Today was a rush job but I did want to post new shots. These were taken in Birmingham, which at 9.00 am on a Sunday is pretty deserted. The light was still pretty nice but next time I will try to get in sooner after dawn.

An Egyptian guy named Mehmet, who had recently bought his first camera, came up to me while I was shooting and we talked for a while about what it is they makes taking photographs so rewarding. I suppose it’s different for everybody, but for me, simply getting out and approaching the world at a different pace, taking time to evaluate what you might otherwise fail to see is always a buzz. Getting something of that changed perspective into an image is the icing on the cake. These ‘Reflection’ shots were all taken on my Nikon D5000.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

All Images Copyright Stuart Allan Hyde

  1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

    Hi Marina
    Thanks for the thumbs up……You dont seem to need to learn too much, judging from the shots on your site, there are loads I’m jealous of.
    D5000 is a great camera isn’t it? For these shots I used a tripod, (Manfrotto compact series), and shot manually. I set film speed to LO 07 and stopped down to F22. Shutter speeds were ranging between 1/2 a second and 2.5 seconds. I didnt use autofocus( to guard against shake) but at such a small aperture I was just able to focus on middle distance and everything stayed sharp. I also used a remote release, again to stop any shake. Because the city was so quiet at that time on a Sunday morning it was easy to set up and take a while to fine tune everything…very different to when the streets are heaving.

    Reply

    1. marinachetner

      Thank you for your tips! I need to investigate the film speed as I don’t think I ever adjust for that… I also don’t own a tripod. Not there yet! Great job on the images. And I do love the Nikon šŸ™‚

      Reply

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      I like the Manfrotto compact series simply because it really is compact…You can shoot at eye level with rock solid stability and yet it weighs less than a kilo, plus it has a ball type head so is super fast to use..PLUS great value..Less than Ā£40.00 sterling..No Brainer!
      Gitzo’s are another quality product but I dont know if they have a similarly compact design.
      Thanks for stopping by my blog.
      All the best
      Stuart

      Reply

Leave a Reply

