Another very bleak and wintery day here in the midlands. The glamourous Mrs SHpics had a hairdressers appointment in town, so I took the opportunity to put on my chauffeuring hat, sneak my camera into the boot, and get a few city pics.

I spent the best part of an hour shooting around the market areas without really getting anything worthwhile, but I was happy with these two shots taken from a carpark roof looking out over the rear of the this building on the Queensway….

A large part of the building is closed, and sadly in disrepair…. but some parts of some floors are given over to short let office space, so the spiral stairways at either end of the building, which act as fire escapes, are still half-heartedly maintained. I don’t know what it is about them, but I find them quite beautiful. The shot above is a little sharpened, but other than that an accurate representation of colour and tone…In the second shot I’ve played with levels and selective colour boosting to try and imagine how they might look if ever the building was restored.

All Images Copyright Stuart Allan Hyde

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      Happiest colour on the planet….Everything looks good in yellow…It’s just the way you work it! Chuck in a bit of Kingfisher blue, a hint of mauve, maybe a smidge of taupe and ‘Bobs yer Uncle’…..

      Reply

  1. scillagrace

    What does “Bobs yer Uncle” even mean??? I had an Uncle Bob when I was a kid, but he wasn’t even that, he was my grandmother’s second husband….I’m so confused…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

