Insomnia kicked in big style last night….My head hit the pillow just before midnight … still wide awake by 2.00am!

So, I gave it up as a bad job and fired up the laptop.

I’d taken a shot of a Birmingham coffee bar yesterday, a lovely building but a bloody awful photo… lifeless, flat and oh so boring…So I decided to see what I could do with it.

It was covered up in places with real estate signage, traffic signs, branding and the like, so I decided to get rid of all that and then use bits of the cleaned up image to ‘build’ another. Most of the design decisions were made ‘on the fly’, but I had an initial idea of creating something where texture was more important than shape, and where the finished image was immediately recognizable and only a short step from reality, at least until examined closely.

The above image is one of three ‘finished’ assemblages, and its the one I was most happy with. Below I’ve included a transitional shot which I quite like in its own right… (I was a bit sad to lose the turrets but the composition seemed to need them to go,) and also the initial photo..( just to prove how crap my photos often are). Click on any image to see the whole of the image on screen.

All Images Copyright Stuart Allan Hyde

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      Well its very good to have you here..Lots more pics, (hopefully interesting), in the archives if you’ve got the time and the inclination…..
      Thanks very much indeed for looking in and taking the time to comment.
      Cheers Stuart

      Reply

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      Alan Watts is a smart fellow, a very smart fellow……..Mine is more of a protozoan intellect… so, for anything I say to have put you in mind of AW is, I reckon, a result in anyones book..
      I’m going now…I have some thoughts to think and the world awaits!
      🙂

      Reply

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      Hi
      thanks for stopping by my blog….
      Glad you like the photos …..its great that your just starting out in photography yourself….you will never regret it..
      I have a photo next to my desk as i write of a view over the Nile valley..my wife and I visited Egypt 2 years ago but with the help of a photo I can go back whenever I want …
      Enjoy your travels.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

