I’ve taken a fair few shots of Birmingham recently …Architecture I’m drawn to, buildings that I love, shots of the people in the streets…all sorts of shots, but most of them in some way affectionate.

Birmingham is a big place, and it has it’s fair share of beauty, but it can be an ugly place as well and I think it would be stupid to ignore the ugliness and walk on by with the lens cap in place. Even at its worst….in the depths of the 1960’s concrete passages the sunlight sometimes plays the alchemist, turning pigeon-shit pavements into quicksilver.

Black and white is not my forte..but I hope you like these shots.

All Images Copyright Stuart Allan Hyde

  1. Rob

    I like these shots. The black and white adds to the dreariness, I think, especially in the first two shots.

    The third shot looks a lot like this one I took in London last month. Great minds think alike – and so, evidently, do ours.

    Reply

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      The third is probably my favourite of the three, though I think it’s probably a bit easier to like, the first and second are just a bit too uncomfortable…

      ‘Oh, makes you wanna holler
      The way they do my life
      Make me wanna holler
      The way they do my life
      This ain’t livin’, This ain’t livin’
      No, no baby, this ain’t livin’
      No, no, no’
      Inner City Blues…Marvin Gaye

      Reply

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      Thank you….
      The shuttered shop used to be a student/youth orientated independent travel agent back in the 70’s, it had 3 wire carousels just inside the door, full of obscure travel magazines, a lot of them just photocopied… I used to get a bus into town on a Saturday and stand for hours leafing through articles on impossible to imagine places, oblivious to Birmingham just outside the door……

      Reply

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      Oh yes..That would be nice….Though it wont be this year I’m afraid….
      Hopefully given my incept date and the fact that my decrepitude is normal not accelerated, I will make it at some point…;-)

      Thats it…you’ve got me started on the BR references…Now there’ll be no stopping me!
      There’s no geek like an old geek…

      Reply

  2. KatiesCameraBlog

    I love taking something scene as ugly and making interesting photos out of it. To me that’s far more fascinating than pretty photos of pretty things. And don’t we always just criticize the hell out of our works? πŸ™‚

    Reply

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      Hi Katie
      I think self criticism is a healthy, pretty much necessary, discipline……Just need to keep perspective….I’ve been known to make myself cry on more than one occasion…BIG BULLY! πŸ™‚
      And yes to the subject matter point you make…I’ve gone for some ‘Ugly’ raw material in todays post ..Feb 14..

      Reply

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      Thanks, Really glad you like them…
      My hit rate on B&W is pitiful…I always shoot B&W ‘in camera’ but on average I must take a couple of hundred shots for a keeper …I tend to know what I want but getting it is always a bugger….I find it a lot less stressful to shoot in colour,..( but when B&W works I do love it)…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

