I took these on Sunday evening, some while after the alleyway shots I’ve posted….. In the morning I’d parked the car in Birminghams Jewellery Quarter, (which will no doubt feature in some shots soon enough), but returning had to walk through an area that, as far as I know, is pretty much nameless, bordered by Snow Hill & St Pauls. Streets of blackened turn of the century factories, Victorian blocks given over to warehousing and wholesale, and razed sites awaiting new construction….Everywhere was brick…The walls, the pavements, the yards…all brick… and bricks of all shapes, sizes and colours…

Nikon D5000..Sigma 18-250…1so 400..f11/f22

All Images Copyright Stuart Allan Hyde

  1. scillagrace

    Gee, I thought you’d add some very British line about being “a brick through the whole bloody mess”…oh, well, keep me on my toes and away from stereotyping. I like the dark mood these cast, even through color. It adds to the sense of weight and solidity. I don’t know how you do that, exactly, added contrast? Saturation? Whatever effort you make, it has a real somber effect.

    Reply

  2. hellenjc

    I am agreat lover of brick…you can’t have enough of it in my opinion.. great shots Stuart.. The bottom one is very interesting..have you added some sort of painterly effect or summat! I particularly like the top one..great colour combinations

    Reply

      1. hellenjc

        Now listen here Stuart I’ll have you know I didn’t go to bed until after 1 and woke at 5.30 so I think I was allowed a snooze !! Saving the wet photos for a day or 2.. I have a real good feeling about them but need more time to choose which ones to use.. be interested to know what you think when they do appear , probably at the weekend.!

Leave a Reply

