I seem to be making excuses a lot just lately but I’m afraid this is another bit of a rush job……

However, at least this time my excuse is valid. The generous and ever-appreciative Mrs SHPics is treating me to an evening out to celebrate my 21st birthday, ( which has come around once again)…So I have twenty minutes to post shots taken this afternoon while on a celebratory shopping trip in Birmingham..(A big success, I now have a new plastic hip and a years supply of toupee adhesive).

The building is the House of Fraser department store which most locals still know as Rackhams. (When I was growing up, ‘going to the back of Rackhams’ was a local euphemism for trying to source a lady of ill repute..??…I don’t know, always seemed quite a nice area to me, but, truth be told, I was rather a late developer)….

Anyway, the store first openend in the 1960’s and the windows you see above must have seemed pretty cutting edge at the time, should anyone have been looking skyward rather than trawling for tarts.

The first two shots are on the Nikon while the final image is a cameraphone shot.

 

.

 

 

All Images Copyright Stuart Allan Hyde

  1. hellenjc

    Love these shots Stuart.. and what a great building. Is that the 3rd time your 21st has come around πŸ˜‰

    ohhh I can see the smoke coming out of your ears as you read this !

    Oh and Happy Birthday…

    Reply

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      Yes…I can see why you’re especially suited to working with the elderly……It’s your caring, sensitive nature.
      (sorry I can’t type any more…my tears are causing the keyboard to short out).

      Reply

      1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

        Nothing funny about being taken for a 63 year old….(unless your eighty I suppose)……

        I’ll have you know I considered myself in my prime until you knocked the wind out of my sails…
        Still sobbing now…three days later!

      2. hellenjc

        Now I’m sure Mrs Shpics will tell you that you are as handsome as ever and ever so young looking πŸ™‚ I just need glasses…Oh actually I already have glasses !

      3. Stuart Hyde - shpics

        Thanks Hellen…..It is, and its appreciated….(bet you were expecting me to be a smartarse).
        (( Dont get used to it though…I’ll be back on full sarcasm settings tomorrow))

Leave a Reply

