There I was, happy as Larry, (whoever he is), snapping away at chimneys, corrugated sheeting, crumbling walls and all the other stuff you see in old industrial estates, when all of a sudden, turning a corner, I walked slap bang into Rust-Man and nearly pooed myself….(Sorry if thats a bit graphic but he scared the living daylights out of me)….

I have no idea who or what he is, or how he’s ended up in a stockyard of an old press-works…but…I do wonder what he’s waiting for…standing there forgotten, with his eyes tightly clenched and his mouth sealed shut.

I don’t know, maybe he’s not waiting at all, maybe it’s already happened…Whatever his story is, he just seems incredibly lonely… lonely and sad.

RUST

I wish that you were here
Down amongst the dust
I need someone to help me
You need someone to trust
There’s something with these tears
Turning me to rust
I need someone to help me
Yeah I need someone to touch

                                                                                                (Ian McCulloch)

*****************************************************************

Thank God when I turned another corner I found these dirty great panels of RED & GREEN, (aren’t they to die for?), and the smile was back on my face…I tell you photography can be an emotional roller-coaster.

Both shots taken in Sandwell with my Nikon D5000 and Sigma 18-250mm.

All Images Copyright Stuart Allan Hyde.

 

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      You shouldn’t feel too skeptical…..
      I’ve boosted the vibrancy in the second shot and killed it a bit in the first but thats all I had to do to these two….
      I ALWAYS own up if I change anything radically….
      🙂

      Reply

      1. scillagrace

        Seriously? Those propane tanks are Pepto Pink? And Rust-Man is so clean-edged against the white bricks that he appears “out of his element”. It gives the composition a rather surreal look to me, kind of 2-dimensional, like a collage. Maybe that’s just the way things are in Sandwell when you look with a photographer’s eyes! I apologize if I have offended your integrity!

      2. Stuart Hyde - shpics

        No offence taken SG.. 🙂
        But I promise I tell no lies..Propane canisters were old and knackered but still definitely too bright, which is why I killed the colour… but Rust Man is untouched..(sorry no, I dodged his eyes a little)..virtually untouched…
        But he was there, exactly where you see him…As you say ‘surreal’…

  1. Robby Cowell

    Haha, I can see how rust man would’ve scared you. I would freak out too if I saw him. And the colouration of those panels is great. Nice shots.

    Reply

  2. ~mimo~

    I think it looks like such a cool and unusual set up! I love finding strange things like this and with your treatment and processing they look awesome!

    Reply

  3. hellenjc

    Rust man is awesome ( and I use that word advisedly !) would have loved to have seen a head and shoulders portrait of him…can you go back please 🙂 In fact better still pop him in your car and bring him home with you and I’ll collect him later. He’d look great in my garden!!

    Reply

      1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

        I think your definition of thrown out and that of the gentleman who owns the factory might be slightly at odds….However Mrs SHPics does like a challenge..She reckons one of those harnesses used by Tom Cruise in MISS IMP might get her in and out undetected….

      2. Stuart Hyde - shpics

        OK…I sense you are serious..(serious but barking, he’ll frighten the birds away)..However, I’ll put Mrs SHPics on hold…I’ve got to go into town on Friday…. I WILL pop in and get the lowdown…

      3. hellenjc

        Back in the late 70’s I did drive all the way from Horsham to deepest Devon with my ex in a borrowed van to pick up 2 very old and beautiful leather chairs I had fallen in love with 🙂 I can be MOST determined.. of course you’ll probably take some more photos and I’ll think Hmmm what was all that about !!

Leave a Reply

