Regular visitors to these pages will know that occasionally, when I’m really stuck for time, and haven’t got a clue what to shoot, and have exhausted the archives, I’ll try to break the block by setting myself a challenge.

Today was such a day. Busy, busy, busy, and no shots in the blog bank.

The challenge was:Β Β  Drive for a maximum of twenty minutes to a single location, stay in sight of the car and get five shots worth posting that would work under the title ofΒ  ‘Texture Square’. ( I decided on this after having another look at the lead image on the March 12 post ).

I left without having a clue where I was going but after fifteen minutes or so pulled into a lay-by at the side of the river Stour, somewhere a little west of Kinswinford. An old shed, a bridge, a river wall (and a few other things) all in spitting distance….This is what I got.

 

I think they’re quite a mixed bag and there’s a couple I like a lot more than the others, but it seemed daft not to post the lot, so seven instead of five…Ah well…Whatever!

Oh and one didnt work as a square..

Now what am I going to do tomorrow??

 

All Images Copyright Stuart Allan Hyde

 

  1. scillagrace

    These are all really beautiful! I wonder if the square is just soothing in some way because it’s so regular (oh, I bet you’re going to run with that idea somehow!)? Typically, I like the “nature” shots best, trees and ivy and blue (even if it’s not sky), but they’re all really great compositions.

    Reply

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      Toilet humour certainly beckons, but…. I’m going to do the right thing for once and ‘not go there’…..I hope you’re impressed…
      As for Squares….Well..they satisfy me like no other shape…except maybe a cube…
      Give me a cube that can dance the Tango and you’d see some sparks fly.

      Reply

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      Thank you Melanie…..Sometimes I need to give myself a bit of a kick up the rump, just to get out there and shoot…For some reason having a specific target seems to make it easier, and the time constraint, rather than a hindrance, seems to work as a boost.
      Anyway, glad you like the shots.

      Reply

  2. cidnlars

    Jeez, that’s pretty ambitious for a busy, busy, busy day! I agree, love the second shot…and the trees. Not sure which is best for me. Wish I was that creative on a whim!

    Reply

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      I find when desperation kicks in, good things DO happen. If I’m really relaxed when I’m shooting my success rate is way down…probably actual image rate is down, I’ve never bothered to check, but I find that a ‘scatter-gun’ approach…shoot everything you see from as many angles as you can as many times as you can….usually guarantees something in the bag.
      Glad you like shot 2… I reckon thats my fave.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

