Hopefully you will have seen my post from a couple of days ago when I shot an old railway line at Wombourne..While I was there I saw a few items of graffiti which I thought would be worth a second look when there was a little more light, so today I went back and shot what you see here…

I know nothing about ‘Street-Art’/’ Tagging’/ ‘Graffiti’, other than the fact that some regard it as pure vandalism, while others see it as a totally legitimate art form.

What I’ve seen ranges from mindless moronic daubing to some pieces of real jaw-dropping genius, and I reckon that street art is the same as any other form of Art..somethings you like, somethings you don’t, somethings are recognizable by even the layman as good, some by the same token as crap. So I’m pretty much prepared to keep an open mind and decide about each piece as I find it. .. but that is with a bit of a caveat.

I spent some time in Bologna late last year, and found a beautiful city being spoiled by an excessive amount ofย  mediocre graffiti that seemed to be plastered everywhere, and that is something that I did resent…

So ..It’s a tough call…Yes, it certainly can be ‘Art’ in the true sense, but it also can be vandalism, irrespective of the artistry involved.

I dont know…you can’t control it by institutionalising it as that would destroy everything that it is about…Rock and roll could never have been confined to a conservatoire….yet letting an idiot with a spray can use the ‘Art’ argument when his only real motivation is anti-social is complete cobblers as well….

?????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

Anyway enough of my confusion…I thought some of these pieces made the dark underside of an unused bridge look better than it would without it…What do you think?…And how about if it was your bridge?

************************************

My posts for the forseeable future might get a little erratic…WiFi/internet access is going to be a major issue while we’re travelling but I will post as regularly as possible and will TRY to reply to anyone who is kind enough to comment as soon as I can, but….It might take a while ๐Ÿ™‚

Please though, do keep the comments coming, I really enjoy reading them all.

All Images Copyright Stuart Allan Hyde.

 

  1. Sonali Dalal

    Like beauty,art is also in the eyes of the beholder. Some images shown here are quite interesting pieces of art. Graffiti is atleast better than ugly posters you see sometimes on wall!

    Reply

  2. hellenjc

    I’m not so keen on the top graffiti but I love all the others.. I’m quite fascinated by it… Have a great trip by the way.. I’ll miss your humour ๐Ÿ™‚
    ( aside – now I can post that self portrait I had been saving til he was away to avoid his cutting comments !)

    Reply

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      That top pic is a funny one…The graffiti is nothing more than a scrawl but I just loved the wall…the way it seems to be bursting out of itself and the way the mould is working with the paint….So No, I agree as street art it’s nothing, but I found the overall look of it really wonderful..
      (Oh..and I will be able to post while I’m travelling but probably not as often…dont worry I’ll find time to pull your self portrait to shreds!!!)
      ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply

  3. Maddalena

    I am not a big fan of Graffiti, but I have seen some that have blown my mind in a very good way. There is a lot of talent out there.

    Reply

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      I’m with you all the way….As you say, as a generalisation the distinction is difficult but I find when you’re confronted by a specific piece you can usually make up your mind pretty easily….The more I see the more I like it…I just wish I could have a really good look round Williamsburg.
      ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply

Leave a Reply

