Here are a few more pics of the Poujuca village I took last week.

The trip to Lencois and the Chapada Diamantina proved slightly more difficult than we first thought…A combination of the best part of 650 kilometres on some really quite awful roads dodging what seems like thousands of totally over-loaded ginormous trucks intent on squashing our tiny little hire car, non -existent signage, no sat nav, no google maps and no Portuguese,  meant that the journey took somewhat longer than we thought, (luckily the brilliant Mrs SHPics speaks some Spanish, or we wouldn’t have made it at all)…….I reckon in total we were lost for more than half the time it took to get from Itacimirim to Lencois, but HEY!!! We made it….(though at the cost of another days post, so April 13th was definitely unlucky for some).

We found a Poussada called ‘Raia Do Sol’  that sits just to the West of the river immediately before the bridge that leads to the village itself..Nice, plain little room with a balcony overlooking the river, hot shower and the promise of a good breakfast…What more do you want?     OH YES…Internet…..Shit! Nothing doing!

If you’re reading this I’ve at least managed to find a connection stable enough to let me transfer the word file and the Poujuca pix to wordpress….Maybe if the village has a decent connection I’ll be able to post some shots I take while we’re here…Fingers crossed!

I shot this in black & white…I’ll be honest, it was by mistake but I thought it looked OK…

Luckily I took this first and,  unusally for me, had the screen on the Nikon activated so saw my mistake and switched from monochrome back to colour..I would have been pretty peeved if they’d all ended up in B&W.

All Images Copyright Stuart Allan Hyde

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      9 times out of 10 I’d agree with you…….if the tenth time happened to be in a Salvador favela after dark there is a possibility of a slight argument……I didn’t actually cry but I did come very close…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

