I know I should’nt moan…but I’m afraid I’m going to….

Don’t get me wrong, I think wordpress is an absolutely fantastic blogging community. I love checking into the blogs that I follow, giving a bit of feedback on what I find & I love hearing what people have to say about my posts ……. I’ve made some really valuable friendships (albeit virtual) on here. My recent access problems while travelling brought it home to me how much I value the relationships I’ve got with other bloggers…It’s strange missing people you’ve never met but that is exactly how I felt, so yes, it’s an incontrovertible fact, I’m a dyed in the wool ‘WordPress’ blogger.

But..that doesn’t mean that ‘WordPress the machine’ hasn’t really pis*ed me off on a few occasions.

Yesterday being a prime example…

Hand on heart the problem is probably an ‘ego’ one as much as an ‘interface’ one…I like it when people like my posts… I really like it, I can’t help it…I like it even more when they tell my why they like my posts…I love it when people follow my posts, its great to think someone has enjoyed something enough to come back and check out what else you might post in the future, the whole process of getting feedback is incredibly rewarding and without doubt has done more to improve my ‘photographic life’ than any other single factor…

SO IT REALLY PIS*ES ME OFF WHEN WORDPRESS HIDES MY PAGES!!**!!!??!!**!

Yesterday was the third time this has happened, when the tagging on my page failed totally in putting the post into the photography section….My followers got a heads’up that I’d posted, but, the world at large heard not a whisper, the post simply disappeared into a black hole in cyberspace. Zero chance of any new readers. Aaaaaargh!

I wouldn’t mind so much but it only ever happens with posts I’m particularly proud of……

So call it vanity, tell me I shouldn’t mind that I got less ‘likes’ for a post I’m proud of than one I might have dashed off in a rush, (not that I ever would..honest), tell me that getting a ‘pat on the back’ is not what I should be thinking about..

Tell me all these things…I know you’re right…… but like the Big Sad Muppett that I am, I’ve been depressed all day…

So ‘Feelin’ Blue’, the image above, seemed entirely suitable.

 

All Images Copyright Stuart Allan Hyde.

 

 

  1. fiebs

    Ahh, very nice. I feel a sense of serenity with this one. And of course, I always thoroughly enjoy your commentary. For a Big Sad Muppett, you’re pretty funny! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  2. Helen Cherry

    I know wordpress can be VERY annoying, Stuart…. I can only see the reader and freshly pressed bits if I use Firefox instead of my usual explorer and apparently lots of other people are having the same problem.. Grrrrrrrrrrrrrr.
    Oh and I’m liking the blue phase ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

      1. scillagrace

        Museum gift shops’ displays…a favorite place for my mother to pick out Christmas presents…Tiffany and Frank Lloyd Wright and Monet incorporated into anything from scarves to umbrellas (bumpershoots? brolly?) to coffee mugs. Personally, I like the scarf medium, all flowy and diaphanous, allowing light to play.

      2. Stuart Hyde - shpics

        My mother is big on the scarf thing…I think you have just solved my christmas present problem..I used to take her to an american style diner here in Birmingham that had mock Tiffany lights that she’d always rave about. So a combination should be a winner.
        It’s amazing what you find out here in Blogsville.
        ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. PhotoPoeticsโ„ข

    I know your pain. That’s happened to me a few times and the only solution was to delete the post and start from scratch.

    Another lovely thing is when you start writing and to ensure you don’t lose any info you save it as a “Draft” post. When you finally finish writing the post – sometimes a few days later – then hit “Publish” the WordPress app decides not to post “Immediately”, but schedules your post for a past date – say two days before when you started writing it. Now I make certain to check the “Published On” date before submitting a post.

    Sorry for the rambling comment. It was meant to express my sympathy ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      Nope…they never showed…checked every hour on the hour for 8 hours…….(I had a break to sob into my pillow every now and again, but believe me I didn’t miss them).
      Still having to hold back the tears even now…….

      Reply

  4. mybeautfulthings

    I love that shade of blue, something we get in the seas around us on a good day. I, too, feel your pain! I like the advice above in photopoetics ramble.
    I think the feedback matters to and is appreciated by us all! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  5. Being Julz

    I’ve run into the same problem a few times myself, the last time being the 19th! The particular post in question NEVER showed up in the photography blog, like you I checked a few times, even “edited & updated” my post to try to kick it in, nothing. I had discovered the saving as a draft/watching the publish date issue but this was a short post that I did on my PC and published immediately.

    I also attribute my extreme annoyance with the issue as one of ego but am glad I’m not the only one WP is “hiding”. I’m just glad the WP doesn’t hide your posts from me… ๐Ÿ™‚ But it is cruel to deny the rest of the world, even occasionially.

    I do love the photo on this post so I guess being blue did have some benefit, at least for us, this time.

    Reply

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      Hey Julz
      I do hope WordPress hasn’t got ‘Being Julz’ or ‘SHPics’ pegged as subversives, cyber terrorists or the like…..
      Do you think they may be singling us out, so we can’t spread our (in their eyes), evil messages to impressionable discontents the world over?
      Well..I dont know about you but I’m going to fight back……..
      SHPics will NOT be suppressed !!!!!!!!
      NEVER !!!!
      The NEEDY and the DOWNTRODDEN WILL SEE my holiday snaps !!

      (I’ve never been one to over-react but sometimes you have to draw a line in the sand)….
      ๐Ÿ™‚
      Really glad you’re enjoying the pics…..Still a few ‘Feelin’ blue’ type shots to come over the next few posts. Hope you like’em.
      Stuart

      Reply

Leave a Reply

