Gloucester Cathedral has WOW moments a’plenty….The Nave, pictured above, was a dark and quite sombre space but, even without a tripod, (not allowed boo hoo), by setting the film speed to SUper-DUper-Extra-SPeedy (thats 3200 asa), I managed to hand hold and pull out some of the detail in the fabulous arches overhead.

The trouble you always get shooting in virtual darkness with really fast speeds is the impossible to avoid, grainy effect… but I quite like it in these particular shots..In print they would look diabolical, but on screen I think they look rather ‘filmic’….

 

‘Filmic’ or not, It was a relief to find a littleΒ  daylight when I finally stepped outside into the Cloister garth.

And… an even greater relief when, as I was leaving, the clouds had a touch of conscience and allowed the sun to have a final ‘end of the day’Β  blast on the Eastern side of the cathedral.

Anyway…thats pretty much it for Gloucester….I have no clue what I will be posting tomorrow…..Any requests?

All Images Copyright Stuart Allan Hyde

  1. scillagrace

    So much precision, so much artistry, so much stone! The history on the cloister pre-dates my little pioneer church in Wisconsin by 500 years. Mind-blowing!

    Reply

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      Those Historic Dudes!!!
      You think they’d have had their hands full with the Black Death, fashioning under-wear from goat skin, and all of that rape and pillage nonsense they seemed to enjoy, but no….They managed to fit in ‘Stone Masonry for Serfs’ and ‘Build your own Cathedral – Chisel and Faith Required’…
      Mind blowing indeed!
      πŸ™‚

      Reply

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      Marina…tut tut…you’re not paying attention…The naughty Cathedral Police wouldn’t let me use a tripod.
      No Tripods!!
      No flash!!!
      If I had, I’m sure I would have been struck down by lightning or visited by a plague of frogs..
      Hand-held with a fast ASA was the only option…
      I shall be watching you closely from now on…Any more lapses in concentration will be severely punished!
      😦

      Reply

Leave a Reply

