So, moving on from yesterdays Sunken Garden Fairy-Fest, I thought I’d invite you into the Walled Garden of Hampton Court Castle…

Whats not to like?

Weathered brick walls…flaking hot-houses….Wisteria bowers……Arches…mystery doors…….and more vegetation than you can shake a stick at. (Which, on reflection, really is a stupid expression!! Whats it mean? How many of us go around shaking sticks at things?)

Anyway, the not particularly green fingered Mrs SHPics and I, deciding simultaneously to leave the stick shaking to the experts, had a wonderful hour or so, picking up some horticultural tips for our own acreage back at SHPics headquarters..(We’d already decided that a waterfall similar to the one in yesterdays sunken garden is simply too big for a window box).

All Images Copyright Stuart Allan Hyde.

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      Hi Marina
      I do love old and obscure phrases…the more obscure the better……Amazing how many we still occasionally use, (like this one for example), where the original meaning can pretty much only be guessed at……
      You always seem to learn something when you look into what is behind a phrase.
      Your own grapevine reference, (one I use a lot without really knowing its roots) in the Wine-Day post had me googling.

      http://www.onestopenglish.com/community/your-english/phrase-of-the-week/phrase-of-the-week-i-heard-it-through-the-grapevine/145660.article

      A phrase a day keeps brain-rot away..
      🙂

      Reply

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      Hey there Jodi

      First off, a really big ‘Thankyou!!’ for being so kind..Its been a long time since anyone has linked me and ‘beautiful’ in the same sentence…..Charismatic, disturbingly sexy, buff, hot, smoulderingly hot, even hotter, Yes, but beautiful, No….so, major thanks and keep taking the medication.

      Now… after I’ve thanked you, (sincerely, it really is kind),I’m going to do something that in England we call ‘Pissing on your chips’…..(we’re a colourful bunch)..
      I’m afraid I dont do the award thing, its always nice to know someone’s got a kick out of my posts, I love that, but I feel awkward having to nominate a set number of other blogs and so on….So I dont do awards…..
      Really hope you understand and haven’t put a contract out…….
      🙂

      Reply

      1. Jodi Ambrose

        Yep. I’ve called all my mob friends and you are screwed! I’d hide in the basement all weekend if I were you. I’m pretty sure they are armed with a cheese grater and a blow torch. 😉

        No worries, new friend!!! I just wanted to let you know you are appreciated. No pressure at all. 🙂

        Now, as for the rest of your comment, I about died laughing. “Charismatic, disturbingly sexy, buff, hot, smoulderingly hot, even hotter.” Your humility is by far your best character trait! 😉 You absolutely crack me up. 🙂 HUGS!!

      2. Stuart Hyde - shpics

        Dont call the caterers, call the Corleones…I have it on good authority they go ‘tooled up’ for a fondue…..
        Though why they’d want to eat in the basement has got me stymied.

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      It is a GREAT garden!!…Cornwall to Hereford? Three hours give or take? You wouldn’t regret it! 🙂

      And as for that description…My wife, the cruel Mrs SHPics, read it and sniggered…Sniggered!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

