Still desperately in need of some sort of photographic boost, I hit the streets with just my telephone camera…..

I’ve always had a bit of a love hate attitude with photographic gear, and, especially when I’m at a bit of a creative low ebb, I really resent lugging around a DSLR with a dirty great lens stuck on the front, tripods and all of the other paraphernalia that the rest of the time seems indispensable…When you know what you want to shoot and how you want to shoot it, it obviously makes sense to have the right gear for the job, but, when you’re banging your head against a wall, without a clue what you’re looking for, it’s simply a pain in the ar*e….Chuck it in a drawer!!!!

Having said that, By the time lunch-time came around, I’d spent a good two or three hours with my telephone camera application poised for action and shot sweet bugger-all……Somedays, and with me those days usually come in groups, you just dont ‘see’ shots…..Days like today, I could be walking through the garden of Eden, in the middle of a firework display, with 85 nude cheerleaders dancing on a flaming podium and still not see a single photo opportunity…..AAaaaargh!

Thank Heavens Mrs SHPics reminded me we needed to change a tyre on the family charabanc.

As ever, she’d done her homework…..technical comparisons, performance reviews, you name it, she’d checked it.

Finally, (of course), we decided on going for the cheapest and, like we always do, rang Big Dave and Steevoh at Tyreworld….luckily they had something suitably rubbery without too many holes, and twenty minutes later we pulled in to the yard, only to find Big Daves office had disappeared….At last, my photo brain kicked in. I took the shot below first and very quickly, just in case the whole lot came tumbling down…The one at the head of the post was then taken using the HDR camera app when I’d plucked up the courage to get a bit closer.

Whew!!!!!

Big Dave??Β Β  Are you in there??

To celebrate, we popped into town for a large cup of Java and a brace of sticky-buns and I noticed these peculiar structures for the first time….They’ve obviously been here since the sixties, (no other decade would see the logic in covering buildings with thousands of mosaic tiles in a uniform shade of grey), but I’d never seen’em before…..Bonkers!!

I still haven’t really got any idea from one day to the next what I’m going to be shooting but once again the camera on my telephone has at least managed to get something I’m happy with..Wish me luck for tomorrow.

Lets hear it for the Samsung Galaxy S2..Hip Hip…Hooray!!!!

All Images Copyright Stuart Allan Hyde.

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      Hi Sally..
      Glad you like it…There was something about the patterns in the tyres that reminded me of snakeskin… so boosting the colours and making the lighting seem a bit ‘wetter’ felt a good way to accentuate it…
      Who says tyres are black?
      πŸ™‚

      Reply

  1. ~mimo~

    I love the composition and the quality of the tire photo. Sounds like you made so much of a creative block and ended up with much creativity to share πŸ™‚

    Reply

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      Thanks Mimo…..The tyres were manna from heaven…I’d be lying if I said my creative block was un-blocked, today I’m completely screwed again, but the tyres certainly gave me a lift….
      What I really need is a journey…….Nepal, or Burma, somewhere like that…..whereas today I have to go to Brierley Hill in the UK’s west midlands….
      Brierley Hill is to photography, what Hitler was to multi-culturalism……..Ho Hum..

      Reply

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      Knit rubber…..Scary…Imagine having a blow-out in your cardigan….
      The tiles were a real surprise, I don’t know how I’ve missed them for the last forty odd years, but if you like these, you’d like Birmingham, it’s one big geometric shape.
      πŸ™‚

      Reply

Leave a Reply

