Our first camping foray into the Peak District.

We’d originally planned to head for the Brecon Beacons, but thunderstorms were forecast. Given that a sheet of plastic only affords so much protection we switched on the thinking caps, cogitated, perused all manner of cartographic matter, took barometric readings and decided the Peak District seemed a far better prospect. Obviously the thunderstorms came to similar conclusions and followed us…Bastards!

In between downpours, I ventured out with my plastic bag wrapped Nikon and cracked off a few frames.

You’re probably all a bit cheesed with Cambodian shots by now, so, (as a change is as good as a rest), here’s a few shots of the area around Castleton in the High Peak.

 

The sun was never out for long, but on the few occasions it did make an appearance, it really was quite beautiful…..We need to go back again.

 

All Images Copyright Stuart Allan Hyde

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      That first sentence really could be taken the wrong way.
      Rude Scilla!!!
      (though I’m glad my photos are rising to the occasion)

      And yes, ’tis England…
      I admit I was somewhat taken aback by the Peak District myself…
      These shots were taken 76 miles from my front door, and I’m ashamed to say I had no idea what I was going to see before I got there….No idea at all…How does a travel-a-holic manage to miss this on his doorstep for 50 odd years?
      The mind boggles!!

      Reply

      1. scillagrace

        The double entendre was an intentional compliment. Now that you’ve made the discovery, I hope you return periodically and share more photos!

      2. Stuart Hyde - shpics

        Intentional???!!!!!**//!!!?????
        Now I’m really shocked…………Obviously I need to go back to your previous posts to see whether I’ve been missing all sorts of dodgy smut !!!
        When you’d said you spent you spent many an afternoon having a blast on your pipe organ to entertain village visitors I had no idea what was really going on………and as for your recent penchant for sitting on an ageing rocker while you work on your rug..Well really!!!
        It’s just not good enough Scillagrace…Not good enough at all !!!
        😦

  1. ~mimo~

    They have a surreal beauty about them and your saturated processing helps with that. Brave to camp in the storm, and it obviously pays off! πŸ™‚

    Reply

  2. Helen Cherry

    We miss so much on our own doorsteps don’t we.. I am trying to rectify that and I think some of my best photos have eirther been taken in my garden or within a few miles of home !
    Great shots Stuart.. I particularly like the 1st and second oh and the sheep angled one πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

