My pal Helen issued a challenge: ” Oy SHPics you tosser, take yourself out of your comfort zone .. Shoot something floral !!”

(She’s not nice).

My initial reaction was floral means flowers, and flowers (at least in isolation), mean macro…Given that I’m not really keen on flowers, (I know, I’m a miserable SOB) and that I don’t possess a macro lens, this was pretty much destined to be a non-starter…..

But, given that Helen took the trouble to suggest this as she knows I’m going through a major creative block, I thought I’d run with it.

So…I took a few liberties.

I decided my subject had to be something from my own garden, (that gave me a choice of twigs or refuse), it had to be ‘picked’ not in situe, and I couldn’t use any vessel or any artificial light source…….Apart from that I could do anything I bloody well wanted.

I happened on a sprig of Berberis that still had a few berries…..Floral enough for ya?

I put it in the middle of a sheet of glass in the dining room, lit from underneath by a mirror reflecting light from the garden through some french windows……(Don’t know why I ever bought a flash gun)…. In the later shots I dripped oil, chilli powder and turmeric on the glass….(The extremely tidy Mrs SHPics nearly had the sreaming Ab-Dabs…sorry sweetheart).

Obviously I have since turned the photoshop ‘kitchen sink’ dial up to eleven.

Here are the results…As always these are 100% better if you click’em.

Hope you like them.

All Images Copyright Stuart Allan Hyde

  1. Helen Cherry

    I hope you’ll do more of this sort of thing… I especially like the first one
    Oh and thanks for the compliment.. I thought it was about time I put a decent photo up!

    Reply

  2. scillagrace

    BRILLIANT collaboration, my friends!!! I really love them all, but the first is muted in a magical midsummer night’s dream kinda way that I really resonate with. And Helen, you are gorgeous!

    Reply

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      ‘Muted’ is not a comment often applied to my shots…Thanks Scilla πŸ™‚ I like it !
      That first image is the first I shot but the last I processed…. I almost didn’t use it, as, though I liked the composition, it was dreadfully under-exposed….Luckily it was a RAW file & I was able to find enough (hidden) light to make it usable…The magic was in the RAW file… πŸ™‚
      And lets stop the whole Helen compliment thing now…..She’s already insufferable!

      Reply

      1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

        Votes please..Yes or No..Should I stick with the Midsummer Nights Dream theme?…..I could feature my Bottom…
        ‘I have had a dream, past the wit of man to
        say what dream it was.’

      2. Helen Cherry

        haha… you are on form today Stuart…and why not you have featured your wife’s bottom it seems only fair!..
        Seriously do keep working out of your comfort zone it’s paying dividends..

Leave a Reply

