It was one of those heart in your mouth moments….There I was… Mr SHPics… middle-aged, camp as christmas, with a couple of grands worth of camera gear hanging round my neck wandering around what can only be described as an industrial wasteland in search of my new enthusiasm ‘street art’, when ‘WALLOP’, there’s a sharp crack from some partition fencing to my right and IΒ  jump two feet into the air squealing like a girl..

Sounds bad?

It get’s worse…

A BIG foot appears through the gaping hole…..then another……then six foot four of hooded youth un-folds through the kicked out panel, spits on the floor, looks me up and down and says:

‘Watchoo doin’ Muthf*cka ?’…..

Well what would you do ?

Well all I can say is, it’s a good job I’m braver than you and have a back-bone of high tensile steel and the courage of a cornered marmot…..The conversation follows:

‘Well actually young man I’m taking photographs of street art’

‘Wassat?’

‘Err…street art…grafitti….I’m taking photos of grafitti….’

‘Watchoo doin’ that for?’

‘Err….a blog’

‘Sheeeee-it..Yoh Mad Man innit ?’

‘Errr…(nervous laughter)’

‘Bonkers man…’

After he had sniggered at me for a couple of minutes the dialogue continued:

‘Why’nt yoo take my pickcher Man? Gotta be worth summat…’

‘Err Ok…I’ll take your photo…..’

‘Street Art Yeah?’

‘Pardon?’

‘Street Art?Β  Yoh deff or summat?’

‘Er yes..Street art…???’

‘Aint Nuffin ‘ere man….Yoh come wiv me…..’

……………………………………………………………………..

Now…. I probably should have turned on my heel, shouted ‘Mummy’ and high-tailed it…….but, for whatever reason I didn’t and fell into step with my new buddy…The shots here are from the first place he took me to…..

I asked him what the building was but he hadn’t a clue…..and you know something I don’t care, because it’s simply mind-boggling whatever it is..

And you’re lucky…… you don’t even need a guide coz I’ve done the hard work. You can find it on the corner of Andover and Fazeley street in deepest darkest Digbeth.

My guide’s name was ‘TWS’ aka ‘Trading War Stories’, which I’m guessing was not what his mother christened him, but, it was the only name he would admit to having. He took me to five different sites and waited while I took my shots because, as he explained,

‘There’s some duff Muthaf*ckas ’round ‘ere man…Yoh’ll get stomped or summat’.

I’ll post some more over coming days, but for now I’ll close with thanks…

‘Cheers Muthaf*cka !’

……TWS……

 

All Images Copyright Stuart Allan Hyde

 

  1. scillagrace

    Awesome! You have just graduated from “tourist” to “traveler” in your own land! I just noticed the Munch-like anguished face in the second shot…like a moment of real emotion in the middle of a cartoon short.

    Reply

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      Here in the Black Country we would call that ‘The Scraym’…….or if we were really going down the dialect route ‘The Blairt’……
      (it actually is quite a disturbing image isn’t it….just shoe-horned in to something which on first glance seems purely decorative….And even better in the flesh….

      Reply

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      Some folks are such nit-pickers….
      Where’s your sense of drama?
      OK then, I’ll ‘fess up….
      Two lines of dialogue were slightly altered…
      ‘Well young man……..’ didn’t quite have the same Dickensian tone….and ‘Bonkers…’ was substituted for something far more rude…….
      Apart from that, it was what it was…….
      (Oh, I suppose if I’m to be brutally honest, TWS was about 5’10” not 6’4”, but the sun WAS behind him and he came through that fence like shit off an oiled spoon)….
      Other than that…Gospel….Pure unadulterated gospel.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

