More Birmingham street art with a bit of a face theme….

Up until a couple of months ago I had no idea that Birmingham had any street art at all…Now I’m finding that there is enough amazing stuff out there to even be able to theme posts.

On a different note I am amazed at how transient this stuff can be…A piece I photographed a few weeks ago has simply ceased to be…Gone without a trace…Though it was probably technically criminal to put it there in the first place I find I’m inclined to be sympathetic to the idea that it was criminal to remove it…But..to be fair, it wasn’t my wall it was painted on..

Still, I’m glad I shot it…Though it would never really occur to me to photograph paintings hanging in a gallery, (I’d rather go back to see them again), shooting street art seems to have a certain justification.

As you can see, this piece is already disappearing.

..and this face has been de-faced….(if you know what I mean?)..

Captain America (Zombie-Stylee) seems to be having vegetation issues….

While the paint was fresh on this…..

….and on this….

but these were the only remaining panels where there had been 7 only a few weeks ago…

This piece is starting to look a little weathered……

This one painted on wood even more so…….

Pieces might last a few weeks, a few months, or at the absolute best, a few years………..

So…..

Photographing these pieces seems, to me, to have a certain justification…….but I think maybe I’m missing the point.

I’m reminded of an old guy I watched in a park in Beijing. He was writing characters on stone using a long brush dipped in water….Characters that were disappearing even before the phrase was finished………………….

All Images Copyright Stuart Allan Hyde

  1. scillagrace

    Yes! The love of impermanent things is something that the Western world struggles with mightily…and the Eastern world views in a completely different way. I love that you put these together in this post!

    Reply

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      I have put my research head on just for you….It seems that most ‘Water Calligraphers’ quote ancient proverbs or poetry, also, less frequently, that some of the characters are of a political nature…….
      As a foreigner I’ve always regarded chinese characters as intrinsically beautiful things… so for me, viewing it as simply ‘Art for Arts sake’ with its brief existence merely adding to its beauty was somehow enough….
      (Type chinese water grafitti into you-tube and there are a number of vids)..
      Glad you like the post C-Bomb.
      πŸ™‚

      Reply

      1. Helen Cherry

        Oh thanks for going to the trouble!.. and I agree with you about chineses characters.. so beautiful and caligraphy generally produces such lovely writing.. and I agree about the brief existence.. ..

  2. marinachetner

    Love that last image – it’s so mystical. You know, with street art, same thing happens here. I have photos of artworks that don’t exist anymore. But the artists know that this is what happens – it’s the nature of the biz. We can only document it πŸ™‚ Let’s make a book called “Street art and disappear”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

