jsanclementin5

Embalse is the Spanish word for reservoir..Within a half hour drive of our recent Spanish base there were five dirty great big ones..

A veritable embarassment of the things,  and, if thats not the right collective term it really should be.

I showed you an image of Negratin, the largest, after my last visit late last summer…but this time I also managed to visit another couple… San Clemente, a few miles from the town of Huescar was the first.

 

jsanclementin6

 

And here it is again……This shot was the first of a number of panoramic shots I took during the trip…This one was a composite of 16 different shots I later combined in Photoshop..My old PC would have exploded if I’d tried this so I’m on a bit of a steep learning curve, but I was happy with the way this turned out.

Basically I shot at about 180mm taking four shots left to right on four seperate planes, starting high and working down, with an approximate 20% overlap on each…..Then merged them all into a single composite..The trick seems to be doing it all fairly quickly so that nothing changes…i.e.clouds/light etc.

 

The last image is from a different viewpoint some half hour later..This one was 24 shots..I like the image, but, between you and me it  isnt a very accurate representation, as the foreground has distorted..The road at the front was actually pretty straight..

Still, who says that a photo can’t tell a few fibs?

 

More Embalses and more clouds still to come…..

 

All Images Copyright Stuart Allan Hyde

jsanclementin2

  1. Helen Cherry

    WOW, WOW and three times WOW.. I am completely in awe of these photos.. the best you have ever taken in my opinion .. Awwww that top shot is surely a prize winner.. magnifique!! I cannot find enough words but I’m clapping my hands with joy I can tell ya!

    Reply

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      Well, thankyou, thankyou, and thrice thankyou….
      🙂
      I am overcome….
      I’d just like to thank everyone who made it possible for me to be here ….
      Etc etc etc…..
      Sob
      Etc
      Sob

      No really ta Helen..but as I’ve said before the light is SO good around there it’s difficult to go wrong..
      🙂

      Reply

  2. corneliaweberphotography

    wow, what a great composition, can’t imagine how long it took you in photoshop, but the result is stunning. Great inspiration Mr. Shpics. That’s funny I live in San Clemente, but on the other side of the globe, in California!

    Reply

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      Hi Cornelia …..
      I feel I should hold my hands up here….the only awkward bit is actually shooting the individual frames and making sure they each overlap a bit…If you get that right Photoshop pretty much does the rest for you using a photomerge thingummy …open the separate frames/click button/wait for quite a long time depending on your machine, and…Bobs yer uncle ……out pops a new born panorama…
      I DO LOVE Photoshop!
      🙂

      Reply

  3. scillagrace

    I’ve often felt, trying to photograph a magnificent landscape, that there’s just no way to depict the scale of the thing. I take the camera from in front of my face and say, “Now THAT’s what I wanted to capture!” This technique seems to give you a much better shot at getting more of that feeling of largesse into your shot. Which makes the photos really breathtaking!

    Reply

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      Thanks Scillabud
      I know exactly what you mean…
      Funny though..
      Because this is not an immediate kinda thing you still don’t get a “rush” and strangely even when I DO see the final image, in some way I don’t quite trust it….I know that the road in the bottom one didn’t look EXACTLY like it does in the pic……
      But…I will do more of this..
      My goal…Complete Immersovision!
      🙂
      Largesserama!
      🙂

      Reply

      1. scillagrace

        In the Techno museum where I work, there’s a thing called The Hive. It’s an (almost) 360-degree plus floor and ceiling visual screen that you step into with special glasses and get a 3-D experience. I haven’t been in it yet, but I hear they have the planetarium environment and a Grand Canyon one. I think Largesserama is a much better name than The Hive!

      2. Stuart Hyde - shpics

        Definitely……
        It all sounds like fun though…
        I however am slightly disappointed by your new job in that I surmise you are not required to wear a corset……
        3D experiences and techno gizmogadgetry are all well and good but I DO like ladies in corsets ….

      3. scillagrace

        I still have that job, also. 2 days a week in the 19th century, 3 days in the 21st and beyond. We’ll see how time travel effects the aging process….

Leave a Reply

