cort1jpegI wasn’t going to post this today but one of those spooky ‘Tales of the Unexpected’ moments has forced my hand……

My blog- bud Scilla, commenting on the terrifying ordeal I told you about in my last post, made reference to the film “The Good, The Bad & The Ugly”, to the effect that my bravado, machismo and devilish good looks reminded her of a young and somewhat better looking Clint Eastwood, (not quite so squinty eyed and with better hair)….At least that was my reading of her comment.

Now there’s nothing spooky about a bit of female fan-worship, here at Shpics God knows I’m used to it, but what is spooky is where I happened to be on the day she made the comment….

(Drum roll)

Cortijo Del Fraile……..hidden in the badlands of the Cabo De Gata !

Spooky spooky spooky!!!

I’ll pop an info link somewhere down at the bottom of the post and you can check out a bit of this iconic buildings history, but it was indeed used in “The Good, The Bad & The Ugly”

HOW WEIRD IS THAT?

There are literally thousands of shots of this structure all over the web, and all seem to be from pretty much the same viewpoint (coz its the best), so I’ll apologise straight away for not coming up with anything original, but I will chuck in a black and white, super-grainy, filmy, kinda homage’y treatment for good measure……..Give’em a click, they look loads better!

cort2jpeg

Read summat about it here:

http://www.unique-almeria.com/federico-garcia-lorca.html

And check out Scillas blog, all sorts of good stuff there:

http://scillagrace.com/:    All Images Copyright Stuart Allan Hyde

  1. scillagrace

    Completely intuitive and less-than-informed, I thought the movie was probably shot in Mexico. Thanks for making me feel like my awareness is based somewhere in reality! And thanks for the free publicity! As for my comments, I offer them like poetry. Your reading is as valid as any other. 😉

    Reply

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      ‘Intuitive and less-than-informed’………
      How marvellous! I want that as my new strap-line…Can I pinch it?

      Plus, when Scillagrace is wrong at least she’s imaginatively wrong…Most dunderheads reckon ‘Spaghetti Westerns’ were shot in Italy……..
      🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

