wires3jpegThere aren’t that many wires crossing the skies over the Altiplano, but when you do see them, they do what wires usually do and wreck the view……Nature soundly fucked by girders and concrete……

Don’t get me wrong, I like having light and heat at the flick of a switch and I positively adore and couldn’t live without all things telecom, but the infrastructure for it all is rarely doing much for the cause of beauty.

These particular wires are strung along a hill that I’ve walked a lot, (a heck of a lot), but always on my way to somewhere else…they’ve always been something to avoid, to miss out of the frame,

BUT…. as you can see I’ve shot them now.

Hand on heart, I still wish they weren’t there, that everything was undergound or draped with a cloaking device (C’mon science dudes how much longer?), as this is still the one and only time I’ve seen anything remotely beautiful in them, and of course, (excuse the cliche), it’s all about seeing them in a different light..

But, just this once……….

The light lasted for no more than ten minutes but I managed a couple of slightly breathless and not completely accurate Shpics versions of Jimmy Webb’s ‘Wichita Lineman’ before I headed back to base-camp.

wires2jpeg

WICHITA LINEMAN by Jimmy Webb

I am a lineman for the county
And I drive the main road
Searchin’ in the sun for another overload

I hear you singin’ in the wire
I can hear you through the whine
And the Wichita Lineman is still on the line

I know I need a small vacation
But it don’t look like rain
And if it snows that stretch
Down South won’t ever stand the strain

And I need you more than want you
And I want you for all time
And the Wichita Lineman is still on the line

And I need you more than want you
And I want you for all time
And the Wichita Lineman is still on the line

Now that really is a thing of beauty……………………..

wires1jpeg

All Images Copyright Stuart Allan Hyde

 

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      individually they do have something attractive about them…. the rub is, unlike a ‘stripe’ of pylons and wire, that they take over a whole vista….. so I’m afraid I’ve got mixed feelings about them.
      There’s what must have been a very beautiful , long and sweeping valley south of Guadix in Almeria, where there are more than 200 of them over a 5 kilometre stretch, and, though visually it ‘packs a punch’ it really is quite impossible to ‘see’ the valley anymore…..
      So mixed feelings…
      Safe, clean, cheap power? Yes please…
      (But not in my back garden).
      Anyway I apologise for rambling with all this eco-crap…
      Referring back to your comment…
      I apologise…I’ll try harder in the future.
      😉

      Reply

Leave a Reply

