I KNOW HES SCARY, BUT HE’S MUCH SCARIER WHEN HE’S BIGGER!

GIVE THE PIC A CLICK AND IT’LL OPEN IN A HUGE, CRISPY, EXTRA VENOMOUS WINDOW.

YOU’LL SHIT YOURSELF!

I admit that I’m not the tidiest person in the kitchen……When I cook, everything I use gets tossed into the sink where it lies congealing until well after dessert and brandies have been quaffed and consumed….Sometimes it even lies there until the following morning, if (the usually houseproud) Mrs Shpics and I, are both to pissed to risk destroying the china in the move from sink to dishwasher!

I know, we should be ashamed!

However, even having said all that, the worst thing you might find in our sink back in the UK is a rancid, gravy encrusted plate…Not nice, but it ain’t gonna kill ya!

Sinks in Spain are a different matter!

scorp1flipjpeg

You’ll be relieved to hear, that once I had put on my Indiana Jones hat and thick rubber gloves he was relatively easy to capture and return to the wild.

You’ll also be relieved to hear that whatever it looks like, he was actually only just over an inch long…Whew!

I really must get a macro lens!

All Images Copyright Stuart Allan Hyde

  1. nannus

    I find them beutiful in the sense of fascinating. Have you ever seen them under UV light? They fluoresce in a bluish color (at least some species do).

    Reply

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      Oh…that’s a step to far…Venomous arachnids I can cope with, but wizened old men wearing trousers that zip off at the knee is simply asking too much!
      Attenborough! NO!….Keep out of my bloody kitchen!

      Reply

      1. mrsbearfoot

        Depending on the type of scorpion you have in your area, a bite could be very debilitating to fatal. The most common ones in the Phoenix area (where we lived) were the bark scorpions. Victims of the bite would experience excruciating pain and temporary paralysis of the affected body part.

        I found a few informative links to share with you:
        http://www.emedicinehealth.com/wilderness_scorpion_sting/article_em.htm#scorpion_sting_overview

        http://emedicine.medscape.com/article/168230-overview

        I’ve heard conflicting information about interaction with cats but you will want to check with the veterinarian.

        http://phoenix.about.com/od/phoenixmyths/qt/catscorpion.htm

        http://www.petplace.com/cats/scorpion-stings-in-cats/page1.aspx

        I hope this is useful to you and hopefully you won’t see any more of them! That was a great photo, by the way.

        ~Lindy

      2. Stuart Hyde - shpics

        Wow Lindy…..
        That is so kind of you….I had approached a vet in Spain and due to language issues not really managed to get any helpful advice at all…While our vet here in the UK had no knowledge of scorpions…So I was a bit stumped….
        I’m going to study all of these links and maybe try to find some specific info on the actual type of scorpion I found,(I think there are only a few types in Europe) and maybe narrow down the information..
        Once again thanks so much for your advice, it really is incredibly kind of you…..
        🙂

      3. mrsbearfoot

        Better to be informed than caught off guard. 🙂 The only other suggestion I would have is to keep handy the telephone number of the local poison control center, if you have one there.

      4. mrsbearfoot

        Oh yeah… we always killed them when we found them…whacked them with the bottom of a shoe or used a thin piece of scrap wood if it was in a narrow place. Sorry if that is offensive to anyone.

Leave a Reply

