I KNOW YOU’VE HEARD IT ALL BEFORE BUT IT’S FOR YOUR OWN DAMN GOOD! GIVE’EM A CLICK, THEY’RE BETTER BIGGER.

If given a choice, 9 times out of 10 I’d choose to photograph water…1 in 10, (if it ever happened, and I live in hope), I’d use my zoom on Milla Jovovich in a pair of tiny pants, but for all intents and purposes, water is my tip-top subject of choice..

The Altiplano, North of Granada, is pretty much my photo-utopia…more reservoirs, (in Spanish that’s ‘Embalse’), than you can shake a shitty stick at, and every one is unbelievably beautiful.

This is the Embalse de Negratin which lies immediately North of Zujar.

neg2jpeg

I visited in the Summer, when the pontoon was bedecked with half a dozen fat, hairy-backed Spaniards in speedos, and, needless to say, it didn’t rate particularly highly as a photo-opportunity…Today, deserted and under heavy cloud I thought it looked positively splendid.

port1jpeg

This one is the Embalse de Portillo, which lies just North West of The hill town of Castril.

Didn’t I tell you they were beautiful?

I tell ya! I’m a Reservoir Dog!

Woof!

All Images Copyright Stuart Allan Hyde.

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      Now I think you know how scientific my mind is don’t you?
      I do know that in summer, under a bright, cloudless sky, the water of both of these reservoirs is a soft, pale, chalky blue, (you’ve seen it on these pages)…
      I haven’t seen it look this way before.
      I’m thinking a combination of the way light is reflected, and maybe some kind of algae bloom…?
      But…I’m guessing.
      Sorry Scillster 😦

      Reply

  1. j.h. white

    I’m definitely a waterbaby too and these are gorgeous. You’re right about the larger format. I resisted at first but am glad now you’ve been yelling at us.
    The background black & white stairwells on this page are a great juxtaposition to the algae bloom. Yum…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

