DO YOU KNOW WHAT THESE CRUNCHY CONES REALLY NEED? WELL I’LL TELL YOU.

A BIGGER CRISPY NEW WINDOW THAT’S WHAT! SIZE MATTERS SO GIVE’EM A CLICK!

Two treatments of the same subject..They were taken in a heavily wooded copse they I found just off a gravel track between the towns of Seron and Fuencaliente. I’d stopped because of the overall photogenic look of the place, a snatched sideways glance from the car window, a “Wow, look at that” moment, but ultimately these two shots, the last I took on the way back to the hire car when I thought I’d finished, were the only ones I wanted to keep. Sometimes a pretty scene makes for bad photos………

The scene had all the right ingredients….Bright deeply coloured sky, check… definite clouds, check….directional light, check….dramatic foreground elements, check……textured and multi-hued background, check…You’d think you couldn’t go wrong!

But nothing…All of the shots just looked twee, a bit too pretty..Like something you might see on a cheap box of Β chocolates..Not my cup of tea at all.

In the end, the only thing that rang my bell, was this deep bed of fir cones that lay under the darkest, most heavily wooded part.

cones2jpeg

The first shot I tried to give a suggestion of context by shooting with the aperture as wide as I could to blur the background, (I’ve since accentuated the blur in post-process), but, in retrospect, I’m not really sure if context adds anything to the image.

cones1jpeg

By shooting flat and just concentrating on the lovely crunchy cones I think the shot is probably more effective.

As ever dear reader…You are judge, jury and executioner!

All Images Copyright Stuart Allan Hyde

  1. scillagrace

    Oh, I love the one in context, as if I were walking in that wood myself, stopping a moment to look closely, but aware that I would be continuing to walk up to the horizon. Very, very nice. That reminds me – a kid asked me yesterday if I were Little Red Riding Hood. I was wearing my museum costume, which doesn’t even have a spot of red on it. Made me smile, though. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  2. Jakz

    Both of these pictures are fantastic! I do favor the first one a bit more… It’s an inviting scene, makes me want to journey through it and enjoy the sound of pinecones crunching underfoot.

    Reply

  3. jezjohn

    Like the 1st shot more, as the blurred background gives you depth and context. That makes you spend more time looking at the picture than the second one. It’s my new benchmark for photos, more time means there is something there worth seeing.

    Reply

  4. BagspackedI'moff

    Second one. Why? Don’t know, I just do.
    Liking the shift into details in your last couple of posts.
    Come to think of it, that may be why I like the 2nd one. Details. I like and almost always end up making shots of details.

    Reply

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      You’re head needs to be in a different place shooting ‘Big Picture’ and ‘Details’ doesn’t it?
      I find I go in cycles…..At any one point in time I seem to only ‘see’ one or the other…
      πŸ™‚

      Reply

Leave a Reply

