CLICK’EM…THEY’RE BETTER BIGGER!

I shot these back in the summer, and only went back for a second look yesterday, when I considered using them for the ‘Layer’ theme….but it all seemed a little too literal.

However, It did make me think about their subject in a way I maybe hadn’t before…

If I were to trawl back through my archives I reckon I’d be shocked by the amount of very similar shots I’ve taken over the years. I’ve always been attracted to bill boards, I’m sure in large part due to colour and texture….but it’s more than that.Β Forthcoming event posters don’t interest me in the same way…They have to be ‘over’, the more out of date and distressed the better, a fragmented and incomplete event record of something that’s well and truly been and gone.There’s something almost ‘archaeological’ about them. Together with the idea of photos as ‘histories’, they seem to resonate with me on more than one level.

baza1bjpeg

____________________

alm39jpeg

____________________

alm2bjpeg

____________________

All Images Copyright Stuart Allan Hyde.

  1. suej

    Fantastic! I’m on your page with stuff like that.. Old, worn, seen a life before – applies to old decaying buildings, anything with a bit of history, nostalgic in some way.. πŸ˜‰

    Reply

      1. suej

        Oh yes… But I think that a sense of history, a life gone before is evoked by the tatty, decayed, etc. And perhaps that is a trigger because previously you have seen things in your own life that have changed over the years… Or perhaps, intellectually, we know things change with time, can evoke memories, so we don’t need the direct connection. It’s a subliminal message… Well, that’s enough analysing!!

      2. Stuart Hyde - shpics

        I’ve just followed a very similar train of thought replying to Davids comment…You’re right of course. πŸ™‚
        And now I need a rest…Usually I try to think for only two or three minutes a day, less if I can get away with it….too exhausting!

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      I find the more photos I take, the more time I spend wondering why certain things appeal more than others.
      Colour, texture and light are the things that in their absence or presence, will always attract the photographers amongst us, and this type of subject has them all in spades….but as a race, all of us, even those who are not in anyway ‘image aware’ seem to have a fascination with decay and the passing of things.
      Sub-conscious nods to our own mortality?
      Whew!
      Enough phisolerphizing!
      I also like photos of bunny rabbits.

      Reply

  2. scillagrace

    Print archaeology gives you the excitement of finding what is on the very bottom layer, and rarely needs carbon dating because often the date is right there in type. Ever hear the Billboard song? My daddy used to sing me his version, circa 1935, but it’s been updated many times. His includes ‘a box of Cascarettes’ and Roosevelt. Here’s some more lyrics: http://www.ookingdom.com/laughs/billboard

    Reply

  3. mybeautfulthings

    I like the phrase ‘print archaeology’ and I like the layers of history and of stories in the peeling posters. I think it fits the challenge well. I am challenged by the challenge! πŸ™‚

    Reply

  4. imaginenewdesigns12

    Thank you for liking β€œOffbeat Thanksgiving Photos.” I like this post because you have changed my perspective on posters like this. I used to think that these posters were worthless and were just more signs of urban decay, but now I see that these posters do have some historical value to them. Even though they are worn and torn, they do give you a glimpse of what was important to a particular group of people at a certain moment in time, and they can even symbolize the incomplete and fragmented way people experience life. Thanks for sharing your insight. πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

