MR TOAD HIMSELF WOULD BE SO HAPPY IF YOU GAVE THESE TINY LITTLE PICS A CLICK AND VIEWED THEM IN A SPLENDID NEW SUPER-BRIGHT, HIGH RESOLUTION NEW WINDOW…POOP POOP!

A little more black and white celluloid, Ilford XP2 to be precise, shot at Dudleys Black Country Museum.

APhoto04_2Ajpeg

Photographing these immediately took me back to my favourite childhood book, ‘The Wind In The Willows’ by Kenneth Grahame…..

Mr Toad’s love affair with the ‘New Fangled’ invention, the motor car, was pivotal to the story, and seeing these you can understand why he, and a good 75% of all red-blooded humans, (notice the lack of gender stereo-typing, Mrs Shpics is a proper petrol head), still get hot under the collar at all things automotive….In the words of Mr Toad…(wistfully everyone), “POOP POOP”.

All were shot on my 1950’s WERRA 3 Rangefinder, then developed and scanned on a budget, at a high street photolab. Only Β£5.00 for developing and scanning a 36 exposure C41 film…Good old Max Spielman!

All Images Copyright Stuart Allan Hyde.

      1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

        Vices?
        My idea of a perfect evening is getting smashed off my tits on Spanish brandy, as Mrs Shpics (in a gingham pinafore), lights my cigar and cooks me a bloody steak, while the Filipino maid sits naked on my knee feeding me grapes…
        Yes, I know all about vices..

  1. janemorley2014

    Don’t know what inspired me – probably stilll heady with the promise of fame and fortune afforded me by your unexpected, but hugely welcome endorsement, I revisited your site and found – to my heart’s delight – these fab vintage car pics – heaven! I have a whole series of my own from the AngoulΓͺme ‘Circuit des Remparts’ (my great-grandad worked with Royce before the money came along and created one of the first RR engines, some of the early cars still bear his initials in the reg number AX for Axon) – I’ll have to invent a post to share them.. – also totally spooked to see ‘Wind in the Willows’ was also your favourite childhood tome – Poop Poop to Yoop πŸ™‚ Sorry that was a very wordy comment indeed ! 😦 πŸ™‚

    Reply

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      Wordy comment/Novel……..:-) Whatever it is I like it πŸ™‚

      You must post the pap-pap piccies Jane, I’d love to see’em, I’ve always had a real thing for vintage and classic cars.
      I will, of course, wait patiently.
      No pressure…
      Tomorrow will be fine….
      Early tomorrow….
      πŸ™‚

      Reply

      1. janemorley2014

        I was going to do a girly post with flowers or jewellery or something but you may just have changed my mind, vintage cars it is! Watch this space….. actually that won’t work as this is your blog, but you get the idea πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

