YOU REALLY SHOULD GIVE THESE A CLICK..BIG WINDOWS LOOK SO MUCH BETTER IN THEIR OWN BIG WINDOWS. COMMON SENSE ISN’T IT?

I gave you a glimpse of Birmingham’s new library a couple of weeks ago, but that’s not the only big new lump of architecture in town.

New Street Station is also in the throes of a major re-imagining. Being re-built from the inside out, and while still functioning as the Midlands major rail hub it must have been a planners nightmare, but things seem to be coming together.

glass1sqjpeg

I’m giving you two differently framed versions of the same shot, (it’s my blog, I can do what I bloody well want), which show the super slinky shimmery shiny side..This has been what can only be described as ‘draped’ over the existing structure, and, apart from the one missing pane, (which is a bit of a pain), to my eyes it’s looking rather spiffing…Like spilled mercury.

glass1jpeg

What do you reckon…Square or landscape?

I can’t make up my mind.

Don’t forget to click’em, they really do look a whole lot better.

All Images Copyright Stuart Allan Hyde

  1. SueBee and Kat

    I was all set deciding on the square, then I clicked on the landscape and preferred it, then clicked back on the square and decided on it, then ….~ Can’t make a decision on that, but I do like the one window missing – it adds even more mystery and interest to an already fabulous shot, regardless which one!! Nice job. ~SueBee (If I wake up pondering this question at 3am….)

    Reply

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      Oh dear…..
      As much as I like to be at the root of a bit of healthy pondering I would hate to think it might lead to insomnia……Aaaaagh!! Guilt trip!!!
      They’re just a couple of snap-shots!!
      Life’s too short for all this soul searching !!
      πŸ™‚
      (that missing window is my fave bit….:-) )

      Reply

  2. Ann

    I rather like the missing panel; it’s kind of jarring and draws attention to the “let’s cover it up” nature of the renovation. I like the square photo the best. You’ve cropped away the context so it’s more surreal than the landscape one. But the melting building reflections on the right side of the landscape one are trippy.

    Usually, I disapprove of spiffing up train stations because I’m very nostalgic about trains and train stations, but your original New Street Station was destroyed (apparently on purpose) in the early ’60s and was rebuilt. Like a lot of ’60s architecture, it’s rather ugly, so spiff away on this one. Architects don’t seem to have a grasp on the concept of dirt, do they? I’m guessing that there will be several new “Wonder Wall Cleaner” positions opening up.

    Reply

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      I’m very much in your camp regarding railway stations…In my book if it ain’t Victorian, it ain’t a railway station!
      I can just about forgive this one as in all honesty, given the way it was ‘brutalised’ in the 60’s, anything would be an improvement, and since then, it’s really been as much a shopping centre as a station…So I’m willing to cut this New New street a bit of slack..
      As quicksilver cloaked shopping malls go it’s rather splendid.
      I’m lost regarding your ‘apparently on purpose’ ??**?!
      I need to do some research. πŸ™‚
      (That and buy myself a bucket and a sponge…I could do with a new career).
      πŸ™‚

      Reply

      1. Ann

        Wikipedia says, “The original New Street station was built in the Victorian era and had the largest single-span arched roof in the world.[5] This was demolished and replaced in the 1960s.” and they have some photos of that beautiful old station. What a very, very tragic loss. I looked it up because I wanted to see if they were defacing a work of art.

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      I clean my lenses with vodka. πŸ™‚ (hic hic)

      Actually though, as much as I would love to take credit, I must fess up….Other than the natural distortion from shooting upwards with my super-wide 10-20mm lens there is no added distortion….That really is very bendy glass….

      Reply

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      ‘Wanted…Narcissist with a sponge’

      Even I, who can’t pass a shop window without checking out my hair-do, would be sick of the sight of myself by the time I’d given this lot a once-over with a soapy rag.
      πŸ˜‰

      Reply

  3. suej

    Bendy glass, at a train station? In the Midlands? In England? Wowsers…. Anyway, to cut to the chase, I prefer the square image, because it has a surreal air to it. And I’m on your page re: train stations should be Victorian. Really.

    Reply

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      Lots of votes for Victoriana…..:-)
      Thankfully Birmingham still has Moor Street station which, though small, has everything a station should have…
      (And ‘Wowsers’ is another new favourite… πŸ™‚ )

      Reply

  4. scillagrace

    These are really spectacular, Stuart….and I prefer the landscape. Rather like a mural, very surreal with all the bendiness and the missing chunk. Dali would LOVE it! (I’m sure he’d give you a wowzie!)

    Reply

  5. Emilio Pasquale

    I wonder if Birmingham’s Library had the same designer as the Luo Ruvo Center in Las Vegas. I have some photos I am just waiting to post. Same wavy distortion but no real reflections. Have I said I enjoy your photos?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

