I RECKON IT MUST BE GETTING TO THE STAGE WHERE I DON’T NEED TO TELL YOU THESE PICS ARE BETTER IN THEIR OWN WINDOW…SO I WON’T…I TRUST YOU DEAR READER!

India is still a country where the motorbike reigns supreme…

THE INDIAN MOTORBIKE is, of course, the Royal Enfield…Don’t tell me its a British bike because it isn’t!

Like a lot of the best things about Britain, we treated it carelessly and it pretty much died under our care. Thank all that’s holy that Mother India gathered up the rusting remains into the spanner pocketed folds of her sari, muttered gentle words of soothing encouragement, lovingly rubbed in some much needed WD40 and told her new baby to forget all about the silly English tossers. ‘Don’t worry…I will look after you’.

Sure, these days there are Honda Heroes, Lifan Cruisers and what seems like thousands more of their weirdly named Oriental brethren zipping around, but, ask anyone lucky enough to have been, what they most remember of the Indian roads, and it would be the sound of the Enfield’s peashooter exhaust and the wide grins of helmet-less riders, weaving through the brightly painted goods wagons, on their way from here to there, or maybe even nowhere, just loving the ride.

Mr Shpics is saving his pennies.

ind3mand16jpeg

I must thank the supremely talented and cool-headed Mrs Shpics for the original shot I’ve used up at the top as the blog header…I did take one, but mine was all blurry. I was shaking like a love struck schoolboy.

‘Miss Enfielfd…I think I love you !’

All Images Copyright Mr & Mrs Hyde

A brief note here…I’m sorry to all readers who have posted comments against individual photos in the gallery pop-ups I’ve used in occasional recent blogs…It’s really annoying that WordPress doesn’t allow me to reply to them…Thanks so much for commenting, I really appreciate it and will ALWAYS reply to comments made in the main blog section.

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      In some ways she annoys me…Hardly ever picks up a camera and then …BOOM….
      Thank heavens she’s not much use around the house or I might feel threatened…When it comes to vacuum cleaning I knock spots off her!

      Reply

  1. Martin Cooney, Stone Sculptor

    What a lovely machine – am I right in thinking that is was on such a bike that Lawrence of Arabia took off to that great desert in the sky?
    One day I’m going to have me a bike like this. Thanks for adding a valuable addition to my bucket list.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

