I thought we’d have another shufti at Mapusa market…

I hope these shots give you some idea of the many different colours that seemed to pop up and poke you in the eye every time you changed direction, the deep red of dried chillies, the gold of flower garlands and the vivid greens of limes and coriander, but sadly, what they wont give you, and I do apologise Dear Reader, is any sense of the noise, the sheer cacophony of a hundred shouting voices, or the almost overpowering smells of spices, ripe fruits and vegetables, seasoned with the occasional sharp iron tang of blood.

No….. as much as I like a nice piccie, these fall a long way short of the real thing.

If I could, I’d send you all a ticket, Club Class on Shpics Airways, all expenses paid, and you could check it out yourselves…If I could I really would.

Sadly I am but a pauper, and though I’m full of the best intentions, all you’re going to get from me is three silent, smell free sets of computer generated pixels.

Please send all complaints to the usual address.

All Images Copyright Stuart Allan Hyde

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      The trip was instrumental in reducing me from my former state of untold wealth and affluence to my current impoverished condition…..I don’t regret it, but I am getting fed up of the queuing for soup.
      😦

      Reply

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      This could well be my all time fave….it’s vying for my top spot with the Russian market in Phnom Penh which absolutely blew my mind…Simply can’t decide!
      I’ll just have to go back to both… 🙂
      (if only…sigh).

      Reply

  1. scillagrace

    My late husband took videos of his trips to India, more of the noise and movement. He still mentioned that without the smell, you’re not really getting it. Just have to experience it for myself, I guess. Love the colors!

    Reply

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      If ever a place made full use of your senses it’s India…But, what you should do is combine it with your trip to Tibet……Its still not possible for foreigners to cross directly between the two, though locals on both sides can legally use a number of the Himalayan passes, but its reasonably easy for foreigners to use Nepal as a waypoint, either overland or by air….Now that really would be the trip of a lifetime….
      Just thinking about it gets me all hot under the collar.

      Reply

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      Hi Cornelia
      No longer I’m sad to say…..I’ve been back under the grey blanket of storm ravaged England for a few weeks now.
      BUT… no matter how grey and wet it is outside my window, all I have to do is close my eyes and I’m back in the colour riot of India….(Which is great, but I do keep bumping into things).
      🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

