Last year I promised you an annual festival of decrepitude…..

A self portrait taken on, or around, my birthday to celebrate my not having contributed to the nitrogen cycle…

Thankfully… I am able to deliver.

Now technically of course, this years’ is more of a dual portrait, but I make no apologies… The birthday is shared.

‘Friendy’ was given to me by my Grandfather when I was just two hours old, and though he may look like a somewhat the worse for wear sheep, ‘Friendy’ was originally a very, very fluffy pink dog…Pink!

No wonder I’m as camp as Christmas.

Sadly, 54 years of very physical love has robbed poor ‘Friendy’ of most of his hair and the better part of one of his legs….But do I love him less?

Damn right I don’t !

Mrs Shpics doesn’t know it yet but tonight he’s sleeping with us……

“Move over woman… Give the dog a bit of room”.

CLICK THE PIC ! ….BIGGER AND SHARPER, I LOOK EVEN MORE OF A WHIMSICAL, KNACKERED OLD QUEEN !

bboy54bjpeg

All Images Copyright Stuart Allan Hyde.

  1. Mike

    Ha! Very physical love. You wore the pink right off him, and left him in tatters. Poor thing looks exhausted. You beast!
    Happy birthday Stuart. Mine is next week. Yikes!

    Reply

  2. scillagrace

    Happy Birthday, Stuart, and thanks for allowing us a more intimate peek at the man behind the viewfinder. Friendy and the Velveteen Rabbit seem to have something in common…

    Reply

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      Couldn’t you have just said handsome?
      Good and characteristic sounds like a euphemism for deeply lined , pitted, cratered and generally decrepit looking…
      It’s my birthday…. Lie to me for christsake!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

