VIEW THE GALLERY PICS FULL SIZE TO SEE ALL THE GRAINY GOODNESS…IT’S ILFORD XP2 FILM SO THE GRAIN IS ESPECIALLY SUPA-SEXY…GO ON! GET AN EYEFUL!

I’ve been really struggling of late to get out and about with my digital gear. I don’t know if its the particularly grey spring I’m having issues with, but all I want to do at the moment is shoot black and white film.

Now this wouldn’t be a problem if I wasn’t an impoverished ‘Photo Artiste’, but since spending all of Mrs Shpics ice-cream money on my new, (old), medium format Mamiya, she has cruelly stopped my pocket money and told me that if I want to shoot film I’d better get a paper round.

Don’t get me wrong I still worship the ground she walks on, but she can be tough.

So…Not wishing to over-stretch myself, I quickly gave up on the idea of gainful employment and devoted myself to thinking of easier ways to get back in her good books. Last time I was this unpopular I cleared out the office and it worked a treat…So, throwing caution to the winds I put on my apron and gloves and set about tidying away all of the clutter that has amassed since 2002…..(I know what you’re thinking…12 years! But it’s true, it’s been ages since I put a foot wrong…I’m almost the perfect husband).

Unfortunately for Mrs Shpics, within five minutes I unearthed a roll of Ilford XP2 that had slipped down the back of a cupboard, and, because by that stage I’d quite tired myself out, I decided to stop clearing up and go out and take some photos.

Good plan..

The film was 35mm, which sadly meant I couldn’t use the Mamiya, so, kicking over another cupboard, I dug-out an old manual focus Ricoh XRX and a Sigma 28-70 I last used about ten years ago and made a dash for it.

Birmingham has yet another new building called ‘The Cube’….Amazingly it’s kinda squarish…I headed thataway.

All Images Copyright Stuart Allan Hyde

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      Hey Tanya 🙂
      I know you asked Mrs Shpics the same question and I’m a bit confused… the shots are in a gallery which, when you click on any one shot, makes all of them open in a large black background slideshow which has an advance arrow button on the right, (greyed out until you float over it), and a back button on the left..This means you can simply scroll through’em at large viewer size.
      Then if you want to see any particular one at full size there is a ‘view full size’ button on the lower right of each shot in the scroll if you want to see it bigger.
      I’ve checked it out on a number of different machines and it always seems to work so can only imagine it may be something to do with the way you have your laptop configured if this doesn’t happen.
      Sorry I can’t be more help.
      How are you doing with the Nikon?
      I was hoping to see some more of the red kites.
      S
      x

      Reply

      1. tanya

        got it,me being thick thought that was a collage pic.
        no kite pics that i’m proud of yet.you must have sunshine to get the colours and it’s in short supply here.did go to blenheim the other day though.

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      Amazingly no…..Though I’m planning on setting up a darkroom in the Autumn.
      At the moment I’m having 120 film developed in an independent lab at £4.50 a roll and 35mm C41 (like this) in a high street photolab at £4.00 a pop.
      Then I’m scanning the negs using an Epson V600 flatbed.
      It’s far from a perfect way of doing things but until I can do some major household restructuring, (euphemism for destroying my wifes bathroom), it does at least mean I can keep shooting.
      I’m glad you like the shots and thanks so much for popping in. 🙂

      Reply

  1. bluebrightly

    I have to correct myself – photos are much more than interesting, once I open up the gallery and each one – wow. Love the diver and the damp patch, but also in general the great angles and smooth (I guess because they’re un-digital) tones.

    Reply

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      Whew…. that’s a relief.
      I thought my nonsensical and inane waffling was upstaging my photos for an awful moment there. 🙂
      I do like a bit of gibberish but primarily I am, (of course), an Artiste.
      🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

