THIS MAY WELL BE THE CHEAPEST FILM IN THE WORLD, BUT IT STILL LOOKS BETTER BIGGER. CLICK THE PICS AND SEE THEM IN THEIR OWN SUPER-GRAINY WINDOW.

Regular readers may have worked out that I’m a bit of a skinflint… If I can get away with doing something on the cheap then nine times out of ten, that’s exactly what I’ll do.

But…I’m also a bit of a snob…So, when I heard that ‘Poundland’, (schhh don’t tell anyone), was selling rolls of AGFA 200 asa colour print film for, (you guessed it), a pound, I was torn.

Should I bite the bullet and dash into the shop, hoping no-one sees me, swiftly grab a handful of rolls, chuck some coins at the cashier and scarper super quick, OR, should I pass up the chance of trying some 35mm colour film for a fraction of the normal cost but maintain my, very convincing, quasi-posh, middle class façade. It was a damn tough call.

In the end I did what any normal, aspirational, upwardly mobile, zeitgeist aware, man about town would do, and wore a disguise.

I haven’t shot colour print film for around thirty years…Last time I did I’m pretty sure it was on a camera that used cassette type film spools…GOD I’M OLD !

I used my wonderful little 1950’s ‘Werra 3’ rangefinder, 50mm Tessar lens and calculated exposure with a handheld ‘Leningrad’ light meter. Negs were developed in an hour at a high street lab, and I scanned them using my Epson V600 with just a slight widening of the histogram…Other than that they’re straight from camera.

All Images Copyright Stuart Allan Hyde

 

 

  1. SueBee and Kat

    Ehh, what’s old even mean?! You can take the most fabulous shots and so age doesn’t matter! I particularly love #82. I want to sneak up that pathway and see around the bend. ~SueBee

    Reply

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      I’d still rather be the photographer who holds the key to eternal middle age….Forget youth, vastly over-rated!
      🙂
      Oh, and I went around that bend…..MORE trees!
      (But you can’t get too many 😉 )

      Reply

  2. Sam Charupakorn

    Excellent work! I’m surprised though that the last time you shot color print film was around thirty years ago! Never too late to rediscover the magic, thanks for sharing 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

