THESE ARE SHOT ON ULTRA-CHEAP, ULTRA-GRAINY AGFA 200ASA FILM. NOW YOU AND I BOTH KNOW THAT GRAIN IS A VERY, VERY ,GOOD THING. CLICK THE PICS AND SEE THEM GROW…GRAINIER, GRAINIER, GRAINIEST. YOU KNOW IT MAKES SENSE.

Now you know how much I love my recently acquired WERRA 3 East German rangefinder film camera….Gorgeous, Gorgeous, Gorgeous !!! In fact, truth be told, you’re probably getting a little bored by my enthusiasm and constant harping on.

But…Between you and I, Dear Reader, I have on occasion been slightly frustrated by my lens shortage.

My WERRA has just the one 50mm lens, and so far I’ve been unsuccessful in tracking down either of the 2 other focal lengths available at anything like a reasonable price.

The crux of the issue is, I’m simply not enjoying shooting digital at the moment, and the only other film camera I’ve got, A 1980’s Ricoh XRX that I’ve had from new really just doesn’t appeal anymore…It’s an ugly out-dated lump, trying far to hard to be clever, (the camera, not me)…and it’s quite honestly a pain in the arse to use.

SO…What’s a newly fired up retro film enthusiast to do?

Well, for once in my life, I decided to try to be sensible and do some research.

I wanted a fully manual, Pro quality, 35mm film SLR that accepted a huge range of easily available top quality prime lenses, AND, most importantly I didn’t want to take out a mortgage.

The internet was full of pages called ‘Top Ten Best Manual SLR’s’ and though they all differed in their recommendations, there were a few cameras common to most. Two that stuck out were the Pentax LX and Pentax MX, and given the fact that I’m a tight-fisted SOB I decided to go for the cheaper MX.

It’s impossible to find a bad word about this camera, and they are available incredibly cheaply if you shop around.

Mine came with a £149 service receipt from last October, strap, box, manual, a fast 1.7/50mm Pentax Prime, and I have a 135mm and 28mm Prime currently on route….Total cost £87….LUDICROUS!

I shot all of the pics in the gallery at Dudleys ‘Black Country Museum’ within two hours of the postman bringing the camera.

Not to put too fine a point on it, It’s AMAZINGLY GOOD.

I’ll probably tell you more when I’ve got a few more rolls under my belt…But here’s a pic, (digital), to whet your appetite…Ain’t she lovely?

Pentax MX...The best thing to come out of the Eighties?

Pentax MX…The best thing to come out of the Eighties?

All Images Copyright Stuart Allan Hyde

      1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

        You must be like me…..I log into ebay in secret and get things delivered to friends addresses…
        HAHAHA HAHA!
        She doesn’t have a clue!!
        My normal response is…”What, this old camera?? Oh I’ve had this for years!”
        HAHAHAHA!
        If she ever finds out, I’m in trouble!
        I’ll keep your secret if you keep mine.
        🙂

  1. corneliaweberphotography

    Oh yes, film, I am proud of you to take the challenge to leave dig for a while and have the sensitivity for film. I know that B&W film is not to compare with dig pics. Publish more please , I am very curious how it goes.

    Reply

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      Hey Cornelia, how are things? 🙂
      I certainly do intend to keep posting film shots as and when I get them. It’s obviously going to be a slower and more circumspect process than my scatter-gun digital approach, given the return to dreaded cost implications of each and every image.. But I will not be deterred !
      I’ll rob a bank, sell a kidney, or charge for intimacy !
      Anything to keep me shooting !
      🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

