CALLING ALL ‘REAL’ FILM LOVERS…THESE ARE SHOT ON AGFA 200ASA COLOUR PRINT FILM.

CLICK THE PICS AND SEE THEM IN ALL THEIR GRAINY GLORY…

I’ve spent the day trundling around the Peak district shooting all manner of knackered railway paraphernalia, but, since I’ve shot 90% of it on film stock, I’m afraid you’re going to have to wait for a few days until I’ve ‘kemickerlized me negs’….(It’s a technical term).

Luckily, I’ve got a shit-load of un-aired frames shot  last week at Dudley’s ‘Black Country Museum’, so providing a large dose of grainy goodness to keep withdrawal symptoms at bay is still very much on the cards.

(As a bit of an aside, I notice that since I’ve been using film, I’ve been drawn primarily to what can be loosely termed, ‘historic’ type subjects, open air museums, dilapidated railway stations, city under-bellies and the like….Stupid really…Why follow that path just because I’m using a traditional medium? I need to get my head out of my clichéd arse..)

However, since my head is obviously still wedged tight, I hope you’ll forgive my lack of imagination and just sit back and enjoy a bit of film for film’s sake.

These were shot, first time out, with my ‘new’ 1987 Pentax MX, 50mm  Pentax SMC-M 1:1.7 Prime lens, using Agfa 200 asa colour print film… Negatives developed at a high street machine lab, then scanned using my Epson V600.

All Images Copyright Stuart Allan Hyde.

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      All film, but I think the Pentax deserves the credit…. I just used the onboard meter and underexposed by half a stop.
      The glass is so clear and bright on the 50mm prime…all the light gets through…
      I am officially in love with this camera.
      😀

      Reply

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      Hi David
      This is actually the first Prime lens I’ve ever used on an SLR, (or DSLR for that matter)…Even back in the 70’s when I had a Praktica I only had a 35-70 zoom….
      I simply can’t get over how big a difference it makes, both from a DOF point of view and from its overall clarity.. I haven’t yet seen any results from the 135mm Prime as I used it for the first time yesterday, but, from a DOF perspective that was absolutely phenomenal as well…I can’t wait.
      Cheers.
      🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

