GOODNESS GRACIOUS THESE ARE GODDAMNED GRAINY….CLICK’EM TO GET THE FULL SCRUNCHY EFFECT….FILM IS GOOD FOR YOU!

So, before we leave behind the the recent visit I made to Dudley’s Black Country Museum, I thought we’d better have a gander at the monochrome stuff I shot on the Pentax MX.

I wanted to make the most of the grain, (I do love a bit of eye gravel), but, since I’m currently limited to using super smooth Ilford XP2 black & white film that uses colour chemistry, I did it by shooting at a higher asa… Consequently these were all shot with the camera set to 800.

I’ve also scanned the negs with an unsharp mask to further push the grain a little..

At full size, (I scanned at 6400 dpi), they are probably a little too grainy, but for web display I really like the level of crunch.

But, it doesn’t really matter what I think!

You, Dear reader, are the judge.

All Images Copyright Stuart Allan Hyde

  1. Emilio Pasquale

    The grain barely shows up on my monitor unless I’m looking for it. Would love tho see one of these printed to experience what you were going for. But I do know the shots are great!

    Reply

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      Wandering around the Black Country Museum one is always astonished by how many small children have stumbled and put out an eye on a sharp piece of rusting metal….
      It’s like Armageddon with candyfloss.
      The unseen side is worse.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

