My pal Tanya is very keen on anything with feathers, (actually just birds, not Liza Minnelli), and has been wondering if I might ever get around to shooting any.

Now between you and I, Dear Reader, I viewed this as a bit of a complaint…..OK, my pages are relatively flutter free, no denying it, but I do try to provide variety with my posts…..

Still..Tanya’s not happy, and she scares me, so I thought I’d better do summat about it.

I contemplated buying a new 400mm telephoto lens, a full suit of camouflage, a set of bird whistles and a tarpaulin covered portable hide with silent running wheels to enable me to approach my prey….but decided a lazy afternoon in a bird garden with lager, lunch and a pocket full of sunflower seeds might be easier.

Harcourt arboretum has both birds and very comfy benches, plus a tolerant attitude to ‘gentle drunkenness’ , so it seemed a sensible choice.

I had barely started my eighth can of Carlsberg Super Strength and was not even half way through my scotch egg and pickled onions when I was disturbed by this little bastard, squawking his bloody head off. Very full of himself !

I don’t know why folks are so impressed with wildlife photography…All you have to do is get comfy and stay awake and relatively sober.

All Images copyright Stuart Allan Hyde.

  1. tanya

    beautiful colours but as you say easy to sit until they strut past, but your challenge from september is a kite!!!! i will be really hacked off with you if you manage a yellow hammer lol.

    Reply

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      Tanya…I’m worried about you, this could end badly.
      It seems innocent enough, and I know you think you can stop whenever you want and that one more little lens won’t hurt you, but before you know you’ll be waking up in the middle of the night in a hot sweat, head pounding, teeth chattering, to the stark realization that if you can’t immediately get your hands on a fast, ground glass, 1000mm prime, you’re going to have to kill someone.
      Stop now before it’s too late.

      Reply

  2. tanya

    actually the 1000mm is better,you can get a 500mm-1000mm telephoto for the same price as the 800.lurvvee ebay

    Reply

Leave a Reply

