Stuart Hyde, Seeds Project
Stuart Hyde, Seeds Project

THESE IMAGES ARE A COMBINATION OF BOTH FILM AND DIGITAL LAYERS AND BEFORE BEING CONVERTED TO WEB FRIENDLY VERSIONS WERE BOTH IN EXCESS OF A METER WIDE… CLICKING TO OPEN THEM IN THEIR OWN WINDOW WILL GIVE YOU A BETTER IDEA OF THEIR INTENDED TEXTURE.

So I finally seem to be getting to grips with the bigger picture.

The individual parts that make up these images have all been shot in the last two weeks using both digital and film format. For anything to do with structure and line I used a Sigma 18-250 zoom on a tripod mounted Nikon D5000, while the organic components were using out of date 200asa colour print film on a handheld Pentax MX, using a wide open f1.7 Prime lens.

As far as composition is concerned I was trying to limit myself to a simple multi exposure effect so none of the elements have been resized or distorted, simply layered and cropped.

seeds2jpeg

The colour image above is a simple 2 layer multi with the base layer building bleached and repainted using tones sampled from the top layer.

seeds1jpeg

A 2 layer, square format, multi with the base layer building converted to black and white. Top layer is an almost completely colour bleached film scan with a little subsequent warming up in Photoshop.

The parameters I’ve been working to are pretty much random… there’s no valid reason that I can see, why the structures are digital and the vegetation film, it just seemed to suggest itself.

All Images Copyright Stuart Allan Hyde

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      Thank you Annie……
      I’m enjoying getting away from the ‘literal’ at the moment.
      A bit more nerve-wracking but I like the surprise element of juxtaposing these types of image.
      I’m really pleased you like them.
      🙂

      Reply

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      Hey Ana..
      🙂
      Wordpress can be a bit of a fickle friend at times….Some blogs I follow turn up in the reader, some by email, and SOME not at all…There is no rhyme or reason as far as I can tell…I’m REALLY glad you manage to see some of my posts 🙂 and I’m REALLY REALLY grateful for the re-blog…. It’s very kind of you.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

