We arrived in Spain almost a full week ago….

Leaving behind a dull, wet, fairly average British Summer we were hit, hammer-like, by the Andalucian temperatures. Struggling from bed at around 7.00 am each day, we’ve forced ourselves to brave the outdoors for an hour or so, occasionally watered the plants and hosed down the nights dust from the courtyard, but, more frequently, simply sat stupefied, brains melting as the mercury races up into the low forties.

In my youth I was proud to number myself amongst the ‘Mad Dogs and Englishmen’, but no more……

It’s no real wonder that until yesterday evening my camera had stayed in its case.

At 10.00pm however, just as the barbecue coals were screaming out for Mrs Shpics’ Tandoori spiced chicken, I made a quick dash to the Western side of the hill and shot something with an even better glow. Give the pic a click to open it in its own window.

Cortijo Del Cura. 19th July 2014.

Cortijo Del Cura. 19th July 2014.

All Images Copyright Stuart Allan Hyde

  1. V-Light

    These look like fire tornadoes! 😯 Amazing photo! That Tandoori chicken killed me though…mmm…Why wasn’t i invited? Greece is practically in the neighborhood 😛 Just kidding, i hope you are enjoying your time there 😀

    Reply

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      Alex, you’ve got a standing invite! 🙂
      First time I ever barbecued chicken was Greek Style on Symi ( I’d probably never heard of Tandoori )…I spent a solitary ‘post love affair break-up’ 23rd summer there, living in one windowless room and usually cooking on the beach…Rosemary and Oregano did the trick for the chicken….Greece did the trick for me 🙂

      Reply

      1. V-Light

        What a story 😀 Good to hear that Greece can do good to some people but i still can’t wait to leave…hehe…I hope Austria will do me good 😉 Less than 2 months left…i’m counting each day…

      2. Stuart Hyde - shpics

        Ashamed to admit that Austria is just about the only place in Europe I haven’t been….Don’t know why….I’ve got guide books for Vienna, Salzburg AND Innsbruck on my shelves, but still never actually got there….Weird!
        Where are you going and what are you doing?

      3. V-Light

        Well, maybe it’s time to come to Austria 🙂 I’ll be moving to Vienna, i hope to find a job there since the situation in Greece is unbearable. I was trying to make the move for quite some time now…If you haven’t seen it yet, i’m actually doing an art sale to fund part of my moving expenses. You are welcome to have a look and maybe share it, anything could help 🙂 Here’s the link:
        http://igg.me/at/VlightArtSale/

  2. Emilio Pasquale

    Low 40’s? I feel your pain. We have not yet gotten up past 110 f. yet but we have certainly flirted with it. A barbecue about now sounds pretty good- as long as the wife does the cooking! I’ll be off taking photos! 🙂

    Reply

    1. Barry Wall

      Hi Stuart! You cave dweller you.Good to see all is well with you both. The image you have supplied to us is amazing (Or as they say in the Black Country.. “Bostin”) Don’t care what the temp is there, envious I most certainly am. On saying that I know for a fact you would swop it all in an instant to be back in Quatt at the bikers cafe having a bacon butty and a cuppa.. Yeh right.. Ps. I trust you got the bike over safe and sound? Keep up the excellent work. Regards, Barry. Extra Ps. What exposure did you use for the shot?

      Reply

      1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

        Hey Barry…..:-)
        GREAT to hear from you!
        Don’t mention the bike though….
        Our ferry was cancelled due to a technical fault, (no further explanation, thanks Brittany) and we were put on the ‘Pont Aven’ instead….Room for the car, no room for the bike!!!
        So……..
        Not a happy bunny!
        If we’d have waited around ten days we could have come with six wheels but I couldn’t bring myself to wait, so its Vauxhall only while we’re here…..(sob).

        Of course you’re right…….Tapas in Granada/Butty in Quatt…….No competition!
        Photo wise, the shot was using a Nikon D5000, Aperture priority, handheld at f11..(I think the shutter fired at around a 30th)…can’t be more specific, I was already three sheets to the wind. 🙂 (Hand on heart, I seem to have been intoxicated since I got here…I blame my wife).
        In sober moments, I’m trying to find a film lab to use while I’m here….. I’ve brought a Pentax MX and a sackful of lenses with me, but so far no luck…..Might be a ‘pixels only’ trip.
        Cheers Barry.
        Stuart.

      1. tesid2014

        trust me a hole in the ground would be a dam site cooler than a tin box.i have a treat for you when you come back which i discovered last week.(and no i’m not telling you)

      2. Stuart Hyde - shpics

        A treat !! 🙂
        You realise of course that you’ve ensured that I’ll have sleepless nights from now until mid September, excitedly wondering what it might be…
        Cruel Tanya…….

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      HEY Scillabuddy !!!
      Sorry for tardy reply…… 🙂
      Spain is zonking me out, I NEED to acclimatize…….
      Just told Mrs Shpics that you recommend chucking her lovingly marinated chicken up in the air….She is looking for a flight to Wisconsin and has already packed her baseball bat…be very afraid!!!
      🙂

      Reply

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      Hey Nevenka
      Sounds wonderful…….Vera is on our (still rather daunting) list of places to visit, but, with refreshments included in the decision making process, it’s rising to the top at a phenomenal rate….. 🙂
      I’ll be hungrily following your pages in the meantime.
      Nice to speak to you. 🙂
      Stuart

      Reply

Leave a Reply

