PLEASE CLICK THE PIC… IN A NICE NEW WINDOW IT LOOKS EVEN WIDER AND MUCH MORE SCRUMPTIOUS.

I’m still struggling with the disappointment of not having ‘Edna’ my Royal Enfield motorbike here with me in Spain…..Every time I venture out into the Altiplano ‘Badlands’ I imagine how much cooler I would be to be in lightweight moto gear with the wind whistling around my helmet, (easy Tiger), zipping along merrily from photo opportunity to photo opportunity. Instead I find myself sweating through my shorts and suffering the torture of putting one foot in front of the other, over and over again, up yet another crumbly hill.

The old agricultural road from Cortijo Del Cura to our nearest village Castijellar is an absolute knackerer on foot, (in fact I’ve never even made it a quarter of the way), but on Edna I just know it would be an absolute joy! A little bit of gravel to make it fun, but a gentle roller-coaster ride of easy turns and soft slopes……Oh yes please.

The old road to Castiljellar. Crying out for a Royal Enfield.

The old road to Castijellar.
Crying out for a Royal Enfield.

I thought I’d have a crack at a panoramic treatment after seeing V-lights latest posts, but went for something at the other end of the colour spectrum…Super-bleached!

Incidentally Alex at V-light  is still running her Art Sale…If you haven’t checked it out yet make sure you have a look. Her e-book ‘Visions’ is absolutely beautiful.

http://igg.me/at/VlightArtSale/

All Images Copyright Stuart Allan Hyde

 

 

 

 

  1. V-Light

    😀 Hey there! Well, thank you once again for mentioning me in your lovely post! I’m honored! With all the great support i’ve been getting the campaign is going great…we are at 59% and still have 18 days to go so any help is always welcome 😉
    I’m really liking the bleached look! Did you get to try Color Efex Pro? A motorcycle would be great, i cannot imagine dragging myself in that place, looks awfully hot…You are a brave man my friend!

    Reply

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      Hey Alex….
      Had a look at some Colour Efex Pro videos on the internet.. It does look really good.
      I’m going to wait ’til I’m back in the UK and decide whether to go for mac or windows…My uni course is all mac based whereas I’ve always used PC’s so I’m going to need to make a few changes to my workflow. 🙂
      Just looked at the thermometer…101 degrees!! In the shade !!! I can’t even drag myself onto the patio.
      Oh, and that was just a 6 shot pano…I’m a lightweight !
      😉

      Reply

      1. V-Light

        Ok yeah, that sound like a good idea. I find macs quite annoying to be honest, we had them at my college as well, but then again i do love my computer too much and would never allow anything to come between us 😛 101? Damn, i don’t even wanna think about it…We have 92F today and i’m just sitting and melting in my chair, kinda wishing i could go to the north pole to get refreshed a bit. You don’t really need 22 shots like i somehow managed to do, it only takes forever to render in Photoshop…Stay lightweight my friend! No need to torture yourself more 🙂

      2. Stuart Hyde - shpics

        I only switched on the Powerbook a couple of times before leaving the UK so it’s really too early to tell how I’ll get on with it, but I do wish that the Uni used windows…One less thing to worry about
        🙂
        North pole sounds good (and Vienna is that bit closer)…You bring strudel, I’ll bring Spanish Brandy.

      3. V-Light

        It’s been quite hot in Vienna as well, the weather is crazy! But during winter it will be nice and chilly! I finally want to enjoy some snow! It rarely snows here and even if it does it just 2-3cm… Strudel and Spanish Brandy sounds great 😀 We must do that soon!

      4. Stuart Hyde - shpics

        That’s the great thing about the Northern parts of Europe…Proper summers/proper winters…..
        As much as I love Spain and Greece, (and I do really love both), I REALLY like getting ‘punched in the face’ by the season. 🙂

  2. scillagrace

    Hmm, the windy ride does sound nice, but I imagine it would spoil the quiet. Looking at the atmosphere, I think of canyon echoes, though maybe they’re not deep enough for that. We’re off to New Mexico in October to be in rather the same terrain.

    Reply

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      New Mexico? Jealous? Me?…….. 🙂
      A single cylinder motorbike is one of the sounds that could never spoil anything….It would just add to the beauty.. 🙂
      And once I’ve disappeared over the next hill no-one would ever know…A bit like the tree falling in the forest.
      🙂

      Reply

  3. janemorley2014

    Gorgeous pic as usual sh! Love the bleached effect – totally appropriate I imagine – rather you than me with the 101° – France is crazy too at the moment – 1 day 90°+ the next rain and storms… makes one hanker for the damp and chill of England sometimes…. but not often!

    Reply

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      Certainly looks quite Sepia now doesn’t it.. 🙂
      But no, it wasn’t a filter…Once I’d comped the individual shots I did the rest in levels, curves and the selective colour layer…really just getting rid of the more vibrant tones….What’s left is what was there.
      I really enjoyed doing this one Cornelia…..(but it did make me thirsty 🙂 ).

      Reply

      1. corneliaweberphotography

        I see, what you were doing, hm, work, now wonder you got thirsty, but for what? A great drink or more of knowledge how to work with images???? Any ways, most important you enjoyed it. I would a agree with the first one!!!

  4. Emilio Pasquale

    I agree, the sound of a Royal Enfield would just add to the atmosphere. There are too many places like this around here that I’ve hiked over and it’s no fun in the heat or humidity- but of course we have no humidity because “IT’S A DRY HEAT”! If I hear that one more time I swear I’ll be forced to inflict much pain to whoever is nearby!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

