Well okay, it’s been a while. I’ve been back here in the UK for what already seems like forever, and it’s taken me ’til now to get around to posting.

There are no shortage of images I could show you….. I’ve still got he best part of a thousand shots that I’ve yet to look at on a full screen… but I’ve been struggling with the grey reality of what’s outside my window, compared to the bright and sunny pixels that are there, dancing a flamenco, in virtually every frame I open.

BUT.. Not every frame.

The trip home took in a couple of nights in Toledo, and now, looking back on the images I took there, it’s perfectly plain that, even then, the mood already had me in a Big, Sad, Hug ….

So, on the last night there, we did the only thing you can do.

We bar-hopped.

We started right at the top of the old town, and fully intended to drive away the blues, drinking our way, circuitously, all the way back to the hotel…… But isn’t it funny how a mood always seems to find the fuel it needs?

It was the voice of Ian Curtis, only just made out through a half opened door that first pulled us in, but I know that Toledo, for me, will always be just that one, last bar, where, for two slightly saddened adventurers, wearing their angst on their sleeves, the playlist was as perfect as the wine….

We had ‘These Days’, ‘Shadow Play’ and ‘New Dawn Fades’ from Joy Division. ‘Five Years’, ‘Lady Grinning Soul’, ‘Rock and Roll Suicide’ and ‘Where are We Now?’ from David Bowie…We had ‘A Forest’ by The Cure, ‘Satellite of Love’ by Lou Reed, and both ‘Waiting for The Man’ and ‘Sweet Jane’ from The Velvets…We had Scott Walker, (lots of Scott), Iggy’s ‘Sister Midnight’, we even had a couple of tracks by The Cocteau Twins……

In fact, if you can think of any other masterpiece of melancholia, I bet we had that as well….

The perfect night.  Sometimes it really does do you good to give in to the mood, and simply wallow in feeling sorry for yourself…….

(But I do hope I might start to get over it soon).

So, the first group of images from Toledo….. Not happy snaps, but I’m rather pleased with them.

 

All Images Copyright Stuart Allan Hyde

 

 

  1. west517

    Loving the mixture of b/w with colors — something I’ve never thought of doing until I saw this~ gorgeous “A Kind of Blue” and “Empty Synagogue” — and am loving that although the images are diverse- there’s a “sameness” that ties them together (I hope that makes sense… it does to me anyway) and …Welcome Home! 🙂

    Reply

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      Thank you for the ‘WestieWelcome’ 😀
      In some ways it IS, really good to be home….I think I’ll acclimatize soon 🙂
      I’m glad you like the pics…But there is a bit of a vibe going on isn’t there? I don’t think I was anywhere near as aware of it at the time….. looking back on the shots now, that ‘sameness’ has been an interesting surprise.
      Now I’m off to put something happy on my music system. 😉

      Reply

      1. west517

        There definitely is — just can’t put my finger on it- but it’s very nice! … perhaps you can suggest something inspirational for my tunes– you know when you’re resorting to posting pictures of …well let’s just say I’ve got an “motivational-inspirational-handicap” at the moment (hehe) What I wouldn’t do for a mountain right now– Anyway happy to hear you’re back safe and sound- can’t wait to see your pics! ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

      2. Stuart Hyde - shpics

        I guarantee if you just playlisted half of the tracks we heard in that bar you would, (as soon as you stopped sobbing and someone snatched the knife from your wrist), be out shooting marvellous, gloomy and atmospheric shots in a heartbeat…
        No…..Second thoughts, stick to happy tunes…Inspiration will soon turn up anyway, I’ve seen your photos! 🙂

  2. janemorley2014

    Love the pics sh! Especially Light and Claustrophobia and Kind of Blue, rather like Underworld too, they’re all very bleak and cold manmade seems to me, unlike the rich, wildness of the countryside. If I didn’t know, I’d have thought you’d taken these in England! Hope you’ve found some more uplifting music to play since your return?! Good to see your posts again!

    Reply

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      England, I think, must have been very much on my mind…..
      Toledo was in fact quite glorious, history leaping out in golden sun tinged splendour around every corner….It’s just that I seemed to miss it in every single shot I took.. Ah well…
      Good news though…I have ‘Remember You’re A Womble’ switched to repeat on my gramophone. Kill or cure!
      🙂

      Reply

      1. janemorley2014

        PS You should try Pharell Williams ‘Happy’ – Not exactly Joy Division but sometimes funky is chouette 🙂 Found this the other night on Spotify and couldn’t stop dancing, thank God we have no neighbours 🙂

      2. Stuart Hyde - shpics

        I can’t hear it without seeing that ridiculous hat he wears…Quite spoils it for me.
        ‘Take that silly thing off your noggin Pharrell you bloody fool…What’s wrong with a flat cap?’
        😦

      3. janemorley2014

        I think he’d look an even bigger dork in a flat cap frankly 😦 , but I don’t watch the video, just let my feet sing along! Very good for the soul and the heart I find 😀

  3. scillagrace

    Alas, I am not hip to your playlist. I feel I’m missing out. (I never went to bars when I was young; I still don’t.) We’re about the same age, though, so how do you describe these masterpieces by genre/decade? My playlist is more 40s era Jazz, but it does melancholy pretty well for me. Love the cathedral shot especially!

    Reply

  4. suej

    Great images, Mr S, especially Kind of Blue, Light and Claustrophobia and Maw….a kind of desolation runs through them all. You’re on form here! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

