I spent last night and the early part of today in Oxfordshire, having delivered an emergency food parcel to the ever hungry Mrs Shpics…..

On the way back, I thought I’d give myself a  break from all of the serious photographic thought that my university course has necessitated, and simply shoot something for fun….So throwing caution to the winds, I did.

Glympton is a ‘blink and you’ll miss it’ little village on the road back to the grim North….It seemed an ideal spot to whack my DSLR on a tripod and mess around with some long(ish) exposures.

It ain’t Art, and it ain’t Conceptual, but it is rather pretty.

(Give’em a click to see’em bigger).

 

 

All Images Copyright Stuart Allan Hyde

  1. janemorley2014

    There I am trying to find the wretched website template I just looked at and a moment of escape and repose on wp finds you in a moment of repose with Monet’s bridge transported to Glympton!! It may be a bit pale but it is his bridge isn’t it 🙂 Mind you, not at all sure how the French pronunciation of a delightful English name like Glympton would turn out ? :/ 😀 Hope you are duly refreshed for the end of week intellectual fray ? 😦 🙂

    Reply

      1. janemorley2014

        Of course I’m psychic, dare say all that studious brain activity has transmitted itself across the murky Channel… 😕 I think Monet’s ‘Bridge in grey’ looks very well in Champagne de Glympton? 😀

      2. janemorley2014

        Looks like a proper little bubbling river to me, they call anything a river over here, bless ‘um, even the strikingly named local stream the ‘Arce’ is known as a river….:? :/ o_O

  2. Emilio Pasquale

    So what would make this art? A naked nymph rising from the little river Glyme? I apologize for being vacant from your blog for so long. But I have not been getting notifications of new posts.

    Reply

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      No apology necessary Emilio Old Pal
      🙂
      Wordpress is a law unto itself.
      The ‘Art’ question is a big one though….After a couple of weeks on my ‘BA photography/Art’ course’, (checkout, lightandasmallblackbox.wordpress.com )
      it seems it would need to have a subtext & be in need of contextual analysis……Pretty pictures it seems do not cut the mustard.
      I’d be more than happy with the naked nymph.
      🙂

      Reply

  3. tesid2014

    love them both and will wait with baited breath on your photo of a water nymph when you persuade your muse to pose for you haha.
    on a more annoying note i was going to harcourt later but it’s very grey and dull.
    see if i am tesid2014 on wordpress!!!

    Reply

  4. V-Light

    So pretty! The one with the bridge is my fave for sure! 😀 It’s also nice to see some color again…B&W is cool but you know…you gotta keep our eyes satisfied with some color too 😛 A+

    Reply

Leave a Reply

