A very quick celebratory post….. I’ve just realised that my blog has very recently past the 1500 followers mark.

ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!! (Particularly considering I’ve been such a half-baked, lazy, good for nothing git recently…I really don’t deserve it!!)

Thank you all so very, VERY much.

To be fair, the pressures of university work and still having to earn a crust have made it virtually impossible to post as much as I’d like, but whenever I can, I still  enjoy shooting for the blog as much as any of the other photography projects I’m now getting involved with…It really is the most rewarding way to share photos, and the friendships I’ve found here, and all of the support I’ve had for my photography is incredibly important to me. I hope everyone will continue to pop in for a look around every now and again and check out what I hope will continue to be a FUN, FUN, FUN journey!

These were shot as part of a summer project using medium format film about two weeks ago in Birmingham….I shot them in a bit of a strange headspace as I’m just intending to use little bits of each of the images in a cut-up-collage’y kinda thingie I’ve got ideas for running through my noggin…..It could well prove to be a total load of shite, but I do like these source images….BONKERS colours!!

They were taken on my Pentacon Six, with the 50mm Flektagon lens using Fuji Pro 400 colour negative film and then home processed in a sink and saucepan with Tetenal C41 chemistry…(State of the fookin’ art !)…. and finally scanned with an Epson V600.

Let me know what you think, and once again THANKS for taking the time to have a shufti….

Stuart

 

All Images Copyright Stuart Allan Hyde

  1. janemorley2014

    Ah beautiful Birmingham, it’s that sunny post apocalyptic feel that grabs me every time. If only Jane Austen had penned a few zombie stories what would the BBC have done with this backdrop? Very cool colours and angles sh 🙂

    Reply

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      Birmingham…’The Walking Half-Dead’….You will notice I avoided the populace. Just a little bite from one of those bastards and you’re well and truly fooked…It doesn’t actually kill you but your voice goes all whiny, a large portion of your brainy simply evaporates, and you develop a penchant for ill-fitting tracksuits in man-made fibre. To be avoided!!

      Reply

  2. Sue

    Hehe…am I still on earth, or have I landed in some ‘orrible twilight world of bonkers colours and dangerous alleys? Looking forward to seeing where you go next!!

    Reply

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      Thanks Cornelia……It is REALLY good being amongst some like-minded people…There are three or four people across the three year groups who are VERY interesting photographers and it really makes you stop and consider what it is you’re trying to do. Sometimes it’s hard-going but still a great experience. 🙂

      Reply

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      Hey Alex 🙂
      Thankyou…..I am starting to get a bit of a ‘look’ I think….Both my film and digi stuff are seeming to share a few personal traits…..I just need more consistency with my film work, I’m still dropping a few bollocks every now and again. 😀

      Reply

  3. Crystal M. Trulove

    it is fun how much you love colour – makes it great for the people who get to see what you come up with. My fave by far is the alley with the blue trash bins – wowzer!

    And congratulations on passing the 1500 mark. It’s refreshing to see how many people are interested in blogs of substance even though you don’t throw something up every single day. Goes to show that good content is where it’s at. And you have it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

