I’ve just started a new semester at university so, (relatively speaking), the pressure is off…………….

Consequently, rather than having to follow a brief, something I’ve spent the last Lord knows how many months doing, I thought I’d grab some random gear and go out with absolutely no plan whatsoever, and photograph exactly what appealed to me once stumbled upon for a change.

What a lark!

The camera, my ARAX 60, was loaded with some badly stored, (expired in 1998), Kodak mono film that my mate Dave had given me, (it’s time I found some new friends), and I really didn’t know if I was going to get anything usable at all, but you know me, nowt ventured, nowt gained.

It was so worn and time bleached that I couldn’t tell from the outer film pack what the iso was, so I set for 100 and metered accordingly, knowing if I stand developed it for an hour in a 100/1 solution of ‘Paranol S’ I’d have some chance of getting an image.

Turns out it was originally 100 iso anyway, but given the gravelly rather than grainy result, I’m pretty sure the stand develop was a good call.

No two ways about it, the film was well and truly fooked, and why wouldn’t it be after spending almost 20 years in a damp cellar, but combined with the bonkers, in some ways virtually unusable, ARSAT 30mm fish eye lens that I bunged on the front, I am strangely happy with the results.

ARAX 60, ARSAT 30mm, and Flektagon 50mm, Knackered Kodak 100 Mono print film, Paranol S, Β Epson V600.

All Images Copyright Stuart Allan Hyde

  1. scillagrace

    Hiya, Stuart! Good to see you (or at least your work) back in WordPress land! I’m glad you continue to go larking about with your cameras and sharing. It keeps us all young.

    Reply

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      Hey Scillabuddy ☺…..I just wish I had more time to concentrate on youth boosting.. Really miss regular blogging, I’m firmly convinced going back to university at my age was the single most bonkers thing I’ve ever done!!!! There aren’t enough hours in the day 😱…Haha…. I’ve promised myself to find at least time for a blog a week this semester but heaven knows how I’m going to do it. Wish me luck matey. X

      Reply

  2. V-Light

    Hello Stuart! πŸ˜€ I love all the photos!!! It’s just a different feel that you cannot get with digital sensors!!! And i don’t even might the grain!!! P.s. Expired films are the best, you never really know what you’ll end up getting! πŸ˜‰

    Reply

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      Hi Brian, the film had been left unused in an old storage box, so these were new exposures on old film … I though it was worth experimenting with, but probably wouldn’t have taken the risk shooting anything important ☺….thanks for popping in Brian.

      Reply

      1. equinoxio21

        Don’t mention it. A pleasure as always. Yes, a good experiment. A tribute to the theory that “in the old days, things lasted longer, Mate?”
        Have a great week

  3. west517

    Stuart! How I’ve missed you! πŸ™‚ I bookmarked this post so I could come back and comment ~ these are rustic, grainy and gorgeous… I especially like the 007 – 011 shots — lovely set and do try to post again soon. I hope University is going well for you~

    Reply

  4. Sue

    Great gravelly experiment, Stuart! Like West517, I have a) missed you and b) love those 007 – 0011 shots, my kind of abandoned thing, whatever/wherever it is!

    Reply

  5. Helen Cherry

    I’m a bit late commenting as I have been absent a good bit myself.. summer must be coming near to an end.. as I’m blogging a bit again..
    The fish-eye was an inspired choice.
    Hope the course is going well πŸ™‚
    I am now very happily retired so more time ( well actually pretty busy so it seems like less… go figure!)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

