It’s very rare I post any of my commercial work on these pages, but I couldn’t help noticing how much a couple of shoots I did for client brochures this week were informed by aspects of the deadpan imagery I’ve been looking at as part of my university course….

Surprising how much of a crossover there is between purely commercial photography and some fine art photography.

I was also struck by how empty and slightly creepy these shots are in isolation. Something a little post apocalyptic about them

 

 

All Images Copyright Stuart Allan Hyde

  1. corneliaweberphotography

    Hi Stuart, great to see you back here on worldpress, with some awesome commercial shots. It seems like school keeps you very busy and you are exploring all the different venues of professional photography. That’s great. Wish you good luck for your upcoming future as a professional, it’s hard work out there to break through, but please never loose your great humor in your personal shots.

    Reply

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      Hi Cornelia…Thanks for the encouragement. ๐Ÿ˜€ .. I started shooting commercially way back in the 1980’s so when I started the course of study I was actually hoping that the course would leave me in a position to shoot less and less commercial work, but, the strange thing is that it’s allowing me to re-think how I approach the commercial work I’m doing and I’m finding that I’m enjoying it for the first time in absolutely ages…. Good news all round ๐Ÿ˜€

      Reply

  2. west517

    These are actually very creepy… I think of abandoned as old, rusty, broken down, aged and dirty— but this… the still, colorful beauty of this is so much creepier for some reason. ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      Strange isn’t it?……at the time I was actually having to avoid children and to get ‘unpopulated’ shots was really quite difficult… It was only afterwards that I realised the eeriness of the scenario… Photographs can be so good at distorting the truth as well recording it.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

