More work in progress for my final major university BA Photography project that’s due for submission in May of next year.

I didn’t give you a lot of information about the project in the last post and, truth be told, I’m not going to buck that trend now either. I will say I’m shooting ALL of it on Fomapan 400 monochrome film stock, using a very basic, fixed lens, 35mm point and shoot kinda camera, and that, very loosely, it’s autobiographical. But that’s your lot!

If I were one of those photographers who refer to themselves as an ‘Artist’, I would probably produce an absolutely scintillating ‘Artist Statement’, (a great way of passing the time given that photos take but a fraction of a second while whole days can be spent waffling about them), and come up with all sorts of incredibly interesting stuff about my motivations and the ‘Why’s and Wherefore’s’ of the work, some of which I’m sure you would find almost dangerously stimulating, but sadly for you Dear Reader, I’m one of those old fashioned photographers who is perfectly content to refer to myself as just a photographer, and I’d rather lick the toilet floor than foist another artist statement on the world..

Elliot Erwitt said:  “My ‘work’ is about seeing not about idea’s”….

He also said:   “A picture should be looked at – not talked about.”

And, (not one for failing to make a point), that: “The whole point of taking pictures is so that you don’t have to explain things with words.”

So, a quick, probably seemingly random, selection of images that go some way in fulfilling what I’m aiming for. They ‘work’ for me, and indeed, mean something to me, but what they’re about, and why I’m shooting what I’m shooting, shouldn’t matter if they’re any good at all… ,  I’m much more interested in whether they work for you? Whether they mean anything to you? Why they do? Or of course, why they don’t?….

Humbly dedicated to Mr Erwitt…..

 

  1. tesid2014

    mnn sah 2 and 4 are in my humble opinion your life passing you by very quickly and 1 and 3 looking from the outside in wanting to be a part of the goings on but not sure how.

    Reply

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      This is why blogging is SO good….It’s almost impossible to get honest opinions about work while stuck in what is a pretty closed off education type of environment, and yet, with just a few clicks of a button that’s just what happens.. Thanks Tanya 🙂 your humble opinion means a lot to me….and definitely, some of that strikes a chord….

      Reply

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      It’s rare I resonate with an intense longing…Last time was while viewing a photo of a jogger with slightly bruised lips and retro headphones, and the time before that was when I spilled a brandy…Conclusion, I’m a drunk who falls in love a little too easily.

      Reply

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      Hi Brian, nice to hear from you 🙂 I chose the Olympus XA with its fixed lens to limit what I could do to change whats in front of me. I thought being restricted to that one camera would make it easier to forget a lot of the stuff I usually find myself considering and rather just concentrate on what I can see..There’s something about the viewpoint of small rangefinders that seems a lot like what the eye sees and they’re easy to use as a kind of extension of your own viewing equipment 🙂 I particularly chose the XA as though it is a TINY camera the actual lens itself really is incredibly good….and it was incredibly cheap hahaha

      Reply

      1. equinoxio21

        Plenty of good reasons. I remember a small Rollei 35mm back in the 70’s. Very practical. To be honest, I now only use my I-phone. (Wonder what focal it has? 40mm?) And you are right, it is best to forget about all one has learned and focus on what one sees. Have a great week-end.

      2. equinoxio21

        You are absolutely right Stuart. Hope all is well with you? (I am terribly behind in reading my mail and my friends’ posts. I seem to have browsed a title about “last post”?)

  2. Helen Cherry

    It is always good to restrict yourself in terms of the equipment you are using.. it does indeed concentrate the mind.. I cannot believe you are nearly finished ! It seems like no time since you started.. though probably not to you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

