So… I’m doing what a third year photography student is supposed to do, and not only taking photos and reading about photos, I’m also having a bash at disseminating my photos by as many new ways as I can come up with. Photography competitions are something I’ve rarely done, though maybe some of my longer-standing readers might remember the image below that won a Photo Magazine competition for an image based on a piece of music, but that was years ago and I’d forgotten what a nerve-wracking process it was.

Spanish-dancer

But, getting back to the point, I’ve submitted to a few International and domestic photography competitions of late, and I’m here to report that it’s still a surprisingly tense and unnerving experience. I had some good news when Birminghams ‘Frame Collective’ chose a three pieces of my recent monochrome work for inclusion in their ‘Frame 16’ exhibition, (a couple of the images were featured in my Final Project post from a few weeks ago),and I’ve also just found out that five of my travel images are in the final judging stage of an international Travel Photography competition run by a Spanish news and media company, two of which are here, but those small successes aside, I’m sure my hair is way, way more grey than when I started.

I think one of the things I like most about photo- blogging, is that it’s really fantastic when people take the time to comment on your images and what you’ve posted, but there’s something really none competitive about it. People comment if they like something, or occasionally if they don’t, but the stuff you post just gets looked at on it’s own merits, not compared to other peoples photos, so there aren’t any winners or losers, Β just a forum for people who enjoy taking/looking at photographs…..Waiting for a phone call or email about whether someone has subjectively made a decision about your images being better or worse than others is a far more fraught experience…Not sure if I like it at all.

Anyway..here’s a couple of the travel shots I’m currently wringing my hands and gnashing my teeth over.

The UK’s Forest of Dean, and a view of the Danube and Parliament building in Budapest.

  1. mybeautfulthings

    I love the trees and sunlight shot, one I often try for but can’t quite get! It’s the mist that makes it I think and I guess that’s a very early morning shot. All the best with the competitions. πŸ™‚

    Reply

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      It was late afternoon… I rarely make mornings 😊……But you’re right, it’s all about the light, so we’re pretty much stuck with the extremes of the day for this sort of shot…. I’m glad you like this one, and thanks, fingers crossed.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

