The UK bound Shpics entourage overnighted in Cuenca….

Were they perhaps a little morose at the prospect of returning to sip at the last dregs of the British summer? Maybe they were…… but whatever the reason, the trusty Shpics Nikon simply refused to shoot in colour………

cuenca4jpeg

So Cuenca, like the spirits of your host, was doomed to fade to grey…..

The town is more than a little a little eerie……An occasional dark figure hurries through walkways  that run like tunnels between, around and under the houses that project out over the cliffs.

cuenca9jpegShrines compete with modern graffiti icons for wall-space…

cuenca6jpeg

Shadow painted forests spread their roots and hang heavy over the walls…..

cuenca8jpegWhile Subterranean Alien Blob Monsters stretch worryingly heavenward as Mary, oblivious, wanders overhead……..

“Mary..Mary….We can see up your frock…dribble, grunt”.

Hmmmmm…….

Is Cuenca really as weird as I think it is ?…

All Images Copyright Stuart Allan Hyde

  1. philandre

    I’m new to your blog, but love it. You have some astounding photos and great text. Could not resist commenting on Cuenca, a place I’ve not visited for decades (but it was quite weird even then, when Franco was about. Yeah: I’m that old…). Glad you like “In search of unusual destinations”, by the way. Phil.

    Reply

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      Hi there
      The first time I went was either 78 or 79, then not again until two years ago..Though my memories of the first visit are hazy ( I was there for an indie music fest…..so likely pissed for most of the time), I’m fairly sure the old town part hasn’t changed a great deal….
      Glad you’re enjoying the blog.
      Nice to see you here.
      🙂

      Reply

  2. quisquilia

    Thanks for your visit to my blog, and I have to say you succeeded in capturing the mood in your shots. Perhaps b/w, in this instance, helped enhance your perception and communicate it to your readers?

    Reply

Leave a comment