In the evening this street is alive with music, tables and chairs hide the cobbles, and I dont care what you might have eaten only minutes before, walk its length just once and you will be ravenous from the smells that come from each and every doorway… but, at 5.30 in the morning, just after dawn, it’s an entirely different place.

The colours are softer, and the utter and complete silence makes you want to walk on tip toe,

turning a few corners, taking a few shots….then you’re back where you started from, but now there’sย  a girl scraping up her hair, heading to the main square where the daily treks leave from….then around another corner, the sound of a door scraping on its hinges and a figure settles on a step…the smell of tobacco.

This village takes its time to stretch and get out of bed.

All Images Copyright Stuart Allan Hyde

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      Thanks…..I had high hopes for the trip to the Chapada…virtually impossible to pick up the camera without there being something crying out to be photographed….totally spoiled for choice…
      I loved every moment there.

      Reply

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      Hiya Melanie….
      I’ve been struggling to reply to comments, (failing in fact)..so fret not…Great to hear from you now and I hope you’re not too busy…..Busy is good, too busy is something else altogether….
      So glad you’ve enjoyed the shots…..a few more left to post yet….I’ve shot over 11,000 frames…thank God for digital!
      ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply

      1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

        Dont get me started about tinnitus…….I had laser surgery on my left ear a few years ago..I’m now totally deaf in that ear……Cant hear a thing apart from constant whistling and screeching…Like my own personal banshee…..
        I feel for you.

      2. Stuart Hyde - shpics

        I can ‘tune’ mine out during the day to some extent, but if I wake in the dark hours it’s an absolute nightmare, (or rather it isn’t..if you know what I mean?).
        My doctor took great pleasure in telling me, ‘You don’t have insomnia, its just that you can’t sleep,’
        Thanks for that doc……thanks a lot.
        But…as I said…Don’t get me started about tinnitus.
        ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

