No apologies…life is toooo short.

I’ve been extremely busy. Our trip to Spain sort of grew…rooted and sprouted if you know what I mean…hours became days became weeks and so on, and so on. Some of it quite hard work but still the most amazing time…Photos will appear at some point but I’m afraid that blogging in the world of SHPics  is probably never going to be quite what it was…..

WHY?

Well I’ll tell ya……..

I find myself living on a farm…..FOR THE WINTER!!!! (I know, I’m a city boy, what am I playing at?)…I’ve no landline, no mobile signal to speak of, and I find sadly that  my newly purchased dongle simply dangles……and there’s nothing more dissapointing than a dongle that simply dangles.

But…there are benefits:

Country air, its a cliche, but you should smell it…

Nice neighbours, (We’ve got Pigs, Pygmy goats, Sheep, Dexter cattle, Alpacas, Ducks, Geese and our own Persian cats who seem to delight in the country life)…..

Silence at 9.00am!!!  (Really!!!…I woke to silence…Where’s the Police sirens, the squealing brakes and the dull thud of mindless bass rhythm seeping from Vauxhall Astras?)….

A river…A real life river, fish, current, reeds…it’s a hundred yards away for chrissake!

Free range eggs…..

Outdoor cooking,(yes its cold, so what?)….

I’ve only just got here but these are the first things to strike me….So far the benefits are out-weighing the negatives but its early days…We shall see.

So SHPics has entered its ‘Farm-Life’ phase…..I will blog, but its a nine mile drive to a wifi zone and, much as I love the blogosphere, that means it will happen when it happens…However when I do hopefully it will be worthwhile..

These shots were all taken yesterday afternoon within half a mile of  SHPics Winter Base.

FOR WHEN IT GETS COLD..

AND COLDER STILL.

MY NEW FAVOURITE WALL.

MY NEW FAVOURITE TREE.

DID I MENTION THAT THIS PLACE IS KINDA STRANGE?

AND KINDA BLEAK IN SOME WAYS?

BUT KINDA LUSH AND SEXY IN OTHERS…..

AND NOW AND THEN SIMPLY ‘KNOCK YOU DOWN’ BEAUTIFUL.

AS ‘ENGLISH’ AS IT GETS…..

I aim to spend an afternoon this week catching up with my correspondence, but in the meantime, ‘Hi everyone..Nice to be back’

All Images Copyright Stuart Allan Hyde

  1. Helen Cherry

    Yoooohoooo. delighted to see you back-ish ( no I didn’t mean I’m delighted-ish I mean you are only sort of back.. I’ve missed ya! much has happened. Catch up when you can..
    AS for these images.. I am LOVING the B&W I particularly like the bleak ones and the bottom bridge is mucho fabo..
    I think you will soon give up liking city noise for the blissful animal noises ( oh dear I can feel a humorous response coming on !)

    Reply

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      Hey hey hey C-Bomb…….
      Nice to hear from you…I’ve been following your photoexploits on my smart phone so though I’ve not been able to respond I have still been enjoying…(Big time favourite was the dancin’ light shaft in scottish forest…WOW..love that colour saturation)
      So far Farm life is ringing my bell bigtime, though the internet thing is a pain..blogging aside, I’ve realised I’d forgotten how to buy things if I’m not netted up….Yesterday I even went into an emporium (is that what they’re called?) for something for my camera…HOW QUAINT!
      Oh hark….
      Animal noises!
      Mrs SHPics is awake!
      ta ta..

      Reply

  2. scillagrace

    My occasional heart angst on your behalf has now turned into a merry little jig! I hope you find Farm Life as earthy and robust and sensual and amusing and challenging and encouraging as I did on my summer job in 19th Century living. I love your dewy lamb’s ears photo…I attempted to capture that same sparkly softness about a week ago; yours turned out better. Maybe I’ll try the monochrome…

    Reply

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      Earthy, robust, amusing and challenging I can cope with …but I worry about sensual.
      I allow myself only one sensual experience a day and try to get it over with as soon as is possible….a quick pre-dawn rub of the under-carriage with a wet flannel usually does the trick….
      (but maybe you don’t need to know).
      🙂
      On a more serious note…would you believe that in some small way I hold you responsible for my current position…No?…Well you should.
      Your blog made me aware of an option I hadn’t considered in solving a bit of a predicament….
      However, last night, when it got very cold, and the power went off, and the torrential rain leaking through a bit of roof not far from my recumbent head was keeping me awake for the third hour, I considered paying to have you killed……
      Today the sun is shining and I am replete with bacon and egg and consequently I’m inclined to spare you for now……
      I’ll keep you posted as I veer from gratitude to hatred.
      🙂

      Reply

      1. scillagrace

        Just let me know when to hide 🙂 Well, your lifestyle has inspired me to be open to options and creative solutions to “predicaments”. We’ll see where that takes me in the next month. I must say that it seems much easier without children. And cats.

  3. Pingback: May All Beings Be Happy | scillagrace

  4. tanya ellis

    don’t know why you go 9 miles to wifi.just go sit outside the shop it’s free.loving the pics just wait till the early morning mist on the river it’s beautiful .tanya your ever friendly warden.

    Reply

    1. Stuart Hyde - shpics

      Hi Tanya
      Glad you found the pics…Looking forward to misty mornings…I’m even looking forward to frost and (a little bit of) snow…….
      You might recognise my model for todays shot (saturday).
      🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

